SoCal to NorCal, Gaming Enthusiast & Game Industry Professional

Hi friends! My name is Christian. I just hit 30 years of age and I grew up in southern California - Huntington Beach to be specific. I do not surf, but spent many days at the beach and it's a place of serenity for me. I've always been a gaming nut, my game of choice back in the early days was Counter Strike. I primarily have and currently play on PC, but I've played various consoles throughout the years. The first system I owned was the very first Game Boy (giant grey brick) that my grandparents gave to me. I was hooked.

I started building PCs when I was 15. Back then, there was no such thing as BIOS with UI. Installing Windows was a series of DOS commands, and the internet was seriously limited compared to what it was now. It's way more user friendly today, and that's putting it lightly. I'm always up to talk about hardware, PC builds, and other peripherals. I'm also happy to give advice and/or recommendations, so don't hold back if you're curious!

After graduating high school, I went to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo for Computer Science. To say I wasn't ready for college is a massive understatement. After a year, I decided to withdraw and take some time to figure out my direction. I took some classes at community college and ultimately decided to enlist in the Air Force. After an enlistment stationed at Luke Air Force Base in Arizona, I knew I wanted to get back to college and get my degree. I moved back home and in two weeks I had a job at California Pizza Kitchen and was enrolled for classes at my local community college again. I was driven.

I pursued Business, although my direction for career was still wildly unclear. But the classes made sense and I liked them. I worked really hard to make sure I was transferring to a 4 year with an associates degree in 2 years. The final two semesters, I was taking maximum 19 unit semesters and working two jobs. It was rough, but worth it. Come applications, I set my sights on top tier schools. I applied to top business schools, because the worst they can do is decline, right? My top choice was Haas School of Business at UC Berkeley. I had never been up north that far, but I knew if I got in I would go.

The odds were severely against me, though. Transfer acceptance was 6%, and I had two community college counselors literally say I shouldn't waste my time and it wasn't worth applying. I didn't have a perfect 4.0, but my recent grades were damn near that - I pointed this out in my statements. I found another counselor that was actually genuine and constructive. He was honest with me - that the odds were definitely against me - but that I should absolutely go for it. I did, along with applying to other schools like USC and UCLA. I got rejected from quite a few, and had some other acceptances that I felt happy there were options. UCLA rejected me, and I figured I was out of luck for Cal.

But I got the shock of a lifetime when I checked my decision while at work as a server at California Pizza Kitchen - I got in! I literally collapsed onto the floor. It was the single most exciting point of my life, and validated LOTS of hard work.

The road ahead was difficult, and that's putting it lightly. I went from annihilating classes to being challenged to every capacity I had. Take every top student, shove them into these classrooms, and that was the intensity. Some kids were literal geniuses. Intimidating, but I learned an incredible amount in 2 years.


Along the line, I randomly connected with some fellow students who were reviving a Business club for roles in the Entertainment industry. It was such a stroke of luck, and it was relieving because my other options were the ABCs (Accounting, Banking, Consulting) - none of which I was really stoked on entering into. I stayed with the club for the remainder of my time, moving up to lead a committee and as an executive officer helping grow the club. In leading my Marketing committee, I got in contact with a guy working at a gaming company that my sister's high school friend worked at as an HR rep. We arranged a call, I pitched the idea of an "informational tour" of the office, where they would show us around and give us a run down of their day-to-day. He loved the idea and we put it on the books.

At the end of it all, he was super impressed with how I handled it start-to-finish. I softly put out a probe to see if they had any internship opportunities, because they don't have a formal process. As the VP of Marketing, he would easily be able to argue that budgetary need. In another big stroke of luck, they were looking for an intern. The entire marketing team was 4 people, and one of them had just left. They needed a cheap solution for someone to take over basic daily duties like reporting, partner relationships, etc. I started my summer internship on an hourly rate, then was invited to stay on part time as I finished my last year of school.

Free to play games are a marvel, and they hold their risks. After graduating, 3 months of full-time employment passed and they laid off a third of the company, including me. I went briefly to mobile games, and moved on to my current position with Perfect World doing Product Marketing and publishing/launching awesome games!

I'm a huge game nerd and love to talk about past, present, and future things in the industry. My hope for my future posts is to share my passion and knowledge with others and have fun dialogues about various topics. I want to avoid simply reviewing games, unless it is specifically requested or if I feel a game might be worth a review and compared to other examples.

Please share some of your game favorites below, I'm always looking for fellow gamers to connect with! I've also been told I look like Bryce Harper, you be the judge.

Sort:  


Duuuuuuuuuude!!!!! Hell yeah, sooooooooo good to finally see you on here with your #introduceyourself post!! I learned so much about you from reading this! What a great introduction! I'm really looking forward to seeing the kind of content that you put out on this amazing platform.

Since you're just starting out on here, the best advice I can give you is to come check out the @MinnowSupport Project on Discord. It's a great place to meet people and make your first friends and followers on the platform, which will translate to views and upvotes on your posts. Click on the animated banner below for more information! :) I'm an official greeter on the server, so I look forward to seeing you around!

Thanks man! Really appreciate the support. Always happy to explore other ways to meet people and find new exciting content to support!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SaipanDamashii from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Out of curiosity, as someone in marketing, how much do you get to do with regards to the game design themselves, or playing them while they are under development?

Also, I know it's a bit of a tangent, but you've studied finance, and ended up in marketing? How relevant was the financing knowledge?

As for games, for me it's MOBAs, old-style Quests (The old Sierra and Lucas Art games), CCGs, etc. I really love Journey, Nuclear Throne, and others.

By the by, my first console was the big grey Gameboy brick too. My grandparents gifted it to me around 1995. I met with them last weekend and mentioned to them that it's still working! It's in my drawer, next to my gameboy colour and gameboy advance SP :D

In my current role, there's a lot of playing under development. Game design is largely handled externally though. That said, as a publisher who has partnered with a studio, we can help them align marketing strategy. Game designers/studios come to us to help publish/market their games. We don't seek to define the game design, we want to let the developers do what they do best and they trust we can provide resources to help them get their game noticed.

I am not involved in those high-level business conversations, but I know that neither the studio nor our team would enter into an agreement where we'd seek to dictate the core game elements (which were initially the draw to the business agreement in the first place).

Think of the relationship this way: studios have a game they are developing and think they have something that could work. With some funding, they have a team that is ensuring they have great game design, production timeline, and can deliver a game within a reasonable timeline. What they don't have is a platform team dedicated to back-end and front-end production that outputs a good website and user data collection. They don't have an analytics team that can set up valuable reports, make sure said data is being collected in-game, and reported in a digestible fashion. They don't have a dedicated QA team to isolate and solve bugs that arise from various patches and general play. They don't have a customer service team that can deal with mass & isolated reports for various scenarios. They also do not have a dedicated marketing team, which includes ensuring the core messaging of the game remains consistent, that PR outreach to media outlets is consistent, a UA (user acquisition) team that drives data-driven placements to target-specific and valuable audiences that are likely to invest in your game, and a design/video team that can support the assets to drive all of these initiatives.

I mainly studied Business, although our core curriculum at Berkeley encompassed Accounting and Banking subjects. Marketing in games is interesting. I think Marketing still carries this stigma that it's not data driven. It's very data driven these days. In fact, marketing has become so complex, the limitations are solely dependent on what the systems support. If I had the ability to target people who just entered the game within the last 7 days and send them special offers within that 1-week time period, send them a 1-week introductory email flow to inform them about game resources, and give them in-game login rewards that same period, I would. It's possible, and the data of those campaigns proves positive - but you have to have the ability to do so.

Cool :)

I know most of these things, I think I asked more to gauge a better understanding of how you relate to the games being designed in order to come to the follow-up posts from the right angle.

By the by, specifically about QA, I think that depends on game by game, and also what platforms they tend to release on, but yes, is relevant to quite a few of those as well.

Thanks for the response! And yes, everything is data-driven these days, except the things that aren't ;-)

Welcome buddy! please join us on MSP discord server and meet new friends :D
If you need any help with steemit or anything, I'm here!

Thanks so much, I've joined and super excited to start adding more content. Thanks for the support and willingness to provide help, very much appreciated!

Great introduction!!
I love games too - Age of Empires 2 is my favourite, do you play it?
I resteemed you via @welcoming, my service for showcasing promising newcomers!
Greets!
P.S.: If you say something against AoE, I will unvote this :P

Wow thank you so much for resteeming me, that's amazing! RTS games are not my forte, but Age of Empires is undoubtedly an amazing franchise and there's a reason why they still make new iterations after many years of releases. I definitely enjoy watching it on Twitch, and it's an amazing game on multiple fronts. I'm always appreciative of great games, even if they're not the type I prefer to play :)

Ok, I will count that and leave the upvote ;) JK, obviously wouldn't have unvoted anyways! Who are you watching on twitch?
Btw, do you know @dtube and @dlive. They are like Steem's youtube and twitch. Might be good to know if you plan on posting videos/streams!

Haha :) - @rodeo670 told me about @dlive. @dtube is a new one for me, but I really appreciate the new information. I haven't been as active with streaming, but would like to get back to it and share some content in the future!

As for who I watch on Twitch, I have been watching a weird variety of GTA V Whitelist RP servers and Fortnite. I tune into major tournaments ranging from CSGO to DotA/LoL, I've also been watching some Magic the Gathering tournaments. I'm fairly new to that game, but it's been fun playing in my office with coworkers.

What do you enjoy watching on Twitch?

This post has received a 0.24 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Welcome to Steemit, Love your intro post. You sound awesome and will make a ton of friends quickly. My friend told me about your post and then I saw that my other friend already invited you to MSP/PAL. THe power of networking is strong on the platform. There is no shortage of gamers, business minded folks, and a ton of other amazing folks. FUN, that is rule number one. LEt me know if you have any questions andd I look forward seeing you around.

Thanks so much! I'll definitely reach out with questions and keep an eye out for you on here and in Discord :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65769.61
ETH 2674.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86