Hear Your Mind is now on steemit!

I am a 25 year old, Los Angeles based, public health professional that signed up for steemit to spread awareness on mental health. It's a topic that is really close to my heart. Coming from a South Asian community, topics on mental health is such a taboo. The stigma nearly swallowed me and I don't want anyone else to feel lonely during tough times. That's why I started a blog called Hear Your Mind (www.hearyourmind.org).

Hear Your Mind is a simple idea - A platform to initiate conversations around mental health. I write simple, thought provoking articles around mental health to educate people and break the stigma. Over the 6 months of it's birth, I have had a really good response from the community. The place I come from, an orthodox South Asian community, mental illnesses are perceived as negative and weak. People do not express their sad emotions making depression isolating and lonely. With 450 million people suffering from depression globally - why is it isolating and lonely?

Therefore, I decided to start a platform solely dedicated for mental health education. I write around that topic and also feature guest bloggers who are psychologists, survivors of depression and founders of organisations that support causes of mental illnesses. Reach out to me if you are in need. I am always here to listen to whatever you are going through. And NO, I am not charging any fee or looking for some kind of monetary benefit. I just want you to not feel lonely and give up on yourself.

End of rant. Looking forward to read blogs of other wonderful steemit people and learn something new everydayyaoqi-lai-19621.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome @hearyourmind I think what you are doing is really important and hope that you gain a powerful voice on this evolving platform.

Your niche is special niche and is needed on steemit. Many talk on this issue of mental health here, thus, your presence is so welcome. Always feel free to leave a comment when you need some direction with regards to steemit. We also have a discord channel you can join for discussions!

You are welcome!

Welcome to Steemit! I am also passionate about mental health and blog about it daily :) Feel free to join the mental-health chat channel in steemit.chat - I'm trying to get the conversation about mental health started ;)

Hey! that sounds awesome. I am kind of new in this. How do I join the chat? I am all in - in support for mental health. Look forward to our mutual info exchanges

Here is the link: https://steemit.chat/channel/mental-health , otherwise click the three lines in the upper right hand corner of the steemit screen to open the menu and then click steemit.chat :)

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you deveks, much appreciated :)

Hello and welcome to Steemit @hearyourmind. I am passionate about mental health issues having written a few posts about my battle with depression and my sons Aspergers syndrome. I've followed and voted for you as I'm very interested in your future posts. I look forward to seeing more from you.

Hey @maninayton, thank you so much for reaching out. I am going to binge-read your posts now ;)

And I yours :-)

aww thank you :)

Welcome to Steemit @hearyourmind :) Enjoy and explore!

Thank you, yes am still trying to figure out how it works. Looks interesting though

Hey @hearyourmind, welcome!

Looking forward to seeing your posts on Steemit :-)

Thank you for the support :) Have an inspiring day

Welcome to the community!

welcome to Stemmit!

Wonderful intro and I'll be following your posts closely. I completely sympathize with the lack of focus on mental health in more conservative societies. Welcome to Steemit!

Hey @hansikhouse, thank you for understanding and look forward to your posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29