Researcher at work & philosopher at heart

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

Subject: Introducing myself after an year #Procrastination

I think it is quite late for me to introduce myself. But as a Hindi saying goes, "जब जागो तभी सवेरा" (similar to an English phrase Better late than never but with a twist). I joined this platform almost an year back, but has become more active recently.

Tanul Gupta (@haxins) addressing a gathering at CMA

Image 1: Tanul Gupta (@haxins) addressing a gathering of inspired youth at Chinmaya Mission, Ahmedabad

I am an avid reader and a researcher by profession. Currently, I am working at Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO). You can say my expertise lies in Astronomy & Astrophysics. In the past 5 years, I have worked on Astrosat (India's first multi-wavelength space astronomy mission), and Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM). I highly doubt that any of my reader has heard about these two space missions. Still, if you are that rare person who knows about them, kindly comment. I would love to know what you know.

While going through Steemit, I realized that most of the members here are into blockChain and crypto. As a result, Steemit has got a good intellectual community of crypto enthusiasts. But, same is not true for Physics (especially Astronomy and Quantum computing). If any expert or individuals interested in these fields are reading this post, then do comment. I would like to make and be part of a vibrant Physics community, and I am trying my best to find good individuals on steemit. Please help if you are one of them. Let's find each other. I will publish posts on my latest research on Autonomous Spacecraft Navigation using X-ray Pulsars soon.

Autonomous Navigation using Pulsars by Tanul Gupta(@haxins)

Image 2: Autonomous Navigation using Pulsars by Tanul Gupta(@haxins)

In my steemit blog, I am going to discuss about spirituality (particulary Hindu Philosophy) and its deep and profound implications. I will give equal and sometimes more preference to scientific literature. Most of you may be thinking that why do I want to talk about spirituality when I am in my heart a true believer of science. To all such readers, my answer is that the two fields complement each other. If one is the way to look outside then other is the way to introspect inside (Read this blog entry). West has spearheaded the research in science for past millenia, but India has been spearheading the research in spirituality for almost 4 millenia (still contentious). So, being from India, where spirituality is deeply embedded in the way we live, I am truly at an advantage of having lived a life where the two currents of science and spirituality are augmenting each other.

In addition to these two areas, I am also interested in poetry (mostly Hindi, sometimes Urdu, and rarely English). To all those Hindi/Urdu poets out there, let's share the old gems as well as new creations on #hindustanipoetry. I would like to end this post quoting one of my favourite poems of all time by Dushyant Kumar ji.

सिर्फ हंगामा खड़ा करना मेरा मकसद नहीं,

मेरी कोशिश है कि ये सूरत बदलनी चाहिए|
मेरे सीने में नहीं तो तेरे सीने में सही,
हो कहीं भी आग, लेकिन आग जलनी चाहिए|

With love and respect,
I sign off now,
नमस्ते!! (I bow to the God that you are)

Sort:  

Really nice intro keep posting bro i'm here to support you

@sagartalekar Thank you very much! Looking forwards for your posts too.

Whats the most inspiring part here is that, you have knowledge and can speak about two contrasting subjects, which in themselves are very different and vast.

Sadhguru the Spiritual Guru was once asked about banning plastic in India. He said Plastic is a wonderful material and resolves a lot of issues and should be considered as a solution. It is irresponsible humans who threw plastic here and there that caused it into a problem. Point is if we are responsible in what we are doing we will not only survive but excel in our goals.

You might be thinking this incident has no link to your introduction. Just wanted to tell you though you delayed your introduction by one year, but you are still a responsible person and achieved the task, unlike other people who have converted a wonderful solution like plastic into a problem :)

@aashucryptocharm Thanks!
Do you follow Sadhguru?

Yes, i am trying to follow him to get rid of my addictions ..it is helping a bit

One of the most powerful forms of human communications is praise. We are surrounded by opportunities to use it — in teamwork, in the workplace, in family life, in volunteering, even in dog training — and when we do it well, it works wonders.

Good to know you Tanul. Indeed you have a interesting profession. Looking forward for your future post.

@haxins are you doing anything else in your life ??

@annusingh98 By anything else what do you mean?

I mean this is just wright by you or you are at #work

you are doing grt job bro.. keep it up

Phillosophy is way more intersenting than anything else!

I agree @yashshah991, and sometimes it is more deep and profound.

Welcome to Steemit haxins. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

welcome to Steemit @haxins !! :D
We hope you enjoy your stay on this wonderful platform.
As you maybe already noticed there is a lot to learn about Steemit.
Things can become a little complicated and hard to understand as the
BlockChain has many features to it. Here is were Smart Media Group
comes in to play. SMG is a community specially designed to help new and old
members of the STEEM BlockChain.

Our team stands ready 24/7 to learn and guide you through all aspects of
Steemit and everything that comes with it. What ever question you have
we will have an answer to it.

SMG will also support those that are active on our community.
We will help you to reach a wider range of viewers as well as giving
you a platform to promote yourself.

Communication and interacting with others is the key to
success and together we will achieve this.

Join Smart Media Group on Discord
and discover a vast amount of opperinities.

http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

@smartmediagroup Thanks! I will look into it.

Welcome to Steem, @haxins!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2932 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.6 : Tips on Busy and bug fixes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95