Hi everyone! Let's create something together!

My name is Harrison Misfeldt, and I'm really excited to be a part of the steemit community! I'm less than fond of regular social media, so when a close friend told me about steemit, I was immediately interested.

So, who am I?

First and foremost, I am a storyteller.
I like to write all kinds of stories, mainly in the form of screenplays. However, my favorite tool that I use to tell stories is my camera.

Birddog-0009.jpg

From an early age (around 5) I was drawn to cameras. My dad gave me my first digital camera before I was old enough to understand what digital meant, or what film was for that matter. Nonetheless, I was enthralled by the camera. Some years later, I purchased my own Casio Exilim in the third grade. Then I graduated to a DSLR in middle school. Once I got my Nikon D5100, I taught myself how to use every feature, plus the essential photography techniques (thanks to the internet). Seven years later, I've mastered my hobby of still photography, and I've found a new medium!

Until recently, I failed to realize the power of what I was using. Cameras are not like any other devices we use.

DSC_0433.jpg

Cameras are instruments with which we capture memories that we can experience again at some later date. And for this reason, I believe cameras are not just a device. Photographers and filmmakers harness a camera's power to influence an audience in big ways. Even a still image has the ability to evoke emotions in a viewer.

DSC_0539.jpg

Motion pictures have been captivating audiences since the late 1800's. And today, they are the most artistic form of storytelling in my opinion. Therefore, I am currently pursuing a degree in filmmaking, hoping to push my skills to the next level as a storyteller. Because when we listen to, read, or watch a good story, we are able to escape reality (even if just for a moment).
That is modern-day magic!

DSC_0077.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my anecdotes and my photos! There's plenty more where that came from!

Sort:  

Hello @harrisonmisfeldt! welcome to Steemit! your posts sounds very interesting, can't wait for the stories you tell us :) followed and upvoted!

Great intro. Welcome to steemit Harrison. I am an amateur photographer and I love the idea of telling stories with photographs. The best posts on Steemit (in my opinion) are a mixture of thoughts and photographs. I am constantly trying to improve my writing and composition of pieces and with social media and the attention economy it has never been more important to master this skill. Have fun here on steemit and write lots of great stories. We will enjoy reading them :)

Nice to meet you! Thanks for your input! Good luck with your stories and photography!

A new Steemian ^^ hello @harrisonmisfeldt I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Thanks @tradwonk See ya 'round!

Beautiful pictures!
Welcome to Steemit! Nice to meet you. :-)
Upvoted and followed!
I hope you have lots of fun here and make many friends! :-)
Thank you for sharing! :-)

That is so great. I am very grateful for that! Love it.

Great shots of your photography , followed you so i can see all good photo shots from you. Good work.

Hello, @Harrisonmisfeldt, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Hello Harrison . i would love to read your story .

Hello Harrison !
Welcome to the community !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76