Introduction Part 2 / @happy2b / Recovery

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I am new here...just introduced myself a couple of days ago.
Steem It.JPG
Mostly I have spent my time here reading other peoples posts, commenting, and getting a feel for how I might fit in here. Well like usual, I don't feel like I fit. But thats not a reflection of Steemit, its a reflection of me. I never feel like a fit--EVER!!! Which leads me to what I have come to realize that I need to do. I need to reveal another aspect of myself that will most likely scare off quite a few of you:(
scared.jpg

I am a recovering Addict and Alcoholic. During the last 5.5 years of my sobriety, I have come to know that one of the symptoms of my disease is a sense of not belonging. This helps me to isolate and get deeper into my addictions. I have also come to know that sharing my experience, strength, and hope is a big part of the antidote. So...

along with sharing my art, thoughts, music, poems, and dreams--I will share my experience, strength and hope concerning my lifelong battle against my addictions to alcohol and other drugs. I share this at the risk of alienating a large portion of this community, because the potential of helping just one person like myself IS WORTH IT!!!

On September 30, 20011--I had my first 24 hours free from alcohol and most other drugs...
withdrawl-640x360.jpg
it took another 3 months before I was relieved of my addiction to marijuana and a couple of more months before I was relieved of my addiction to nicotine. Since then, I have not had to drink and or use any mind altering substances--one day at a time!!! This is a miracle!!! I was at a crossroads. I was 36 years old, dying, homeless, and had just lost the will to continue on with living.

I don't know how it happened, but in the moment I had made up my mind-- to wonder off and die in the desert--I was shown another way. The path I was led to gave me freedom. Freedom from the bondage of myself and my baffeling condition. I had been drinking and using AGAINST my own will for the past 10 years at this point. Before then, I drank and used cause I damn well wanted to. To be led to a place that showed me how to stop and stay that way was not something that I thought was even possible. Now I Know that it is! Now I know and live the solution and am hungry to share that information with anyone who needs it!

I want to be available because I know that I am not alone. I want to be real about who I am so that any time I spend on here is genuine. I hope to be of service to those that are like me. To reveal to those that may not know that----** there is a solution**.

Sort:  

@happpy2b that elf scared me bro anyways welcome to this wonder world of steemit follow everyone if u wana get followed follow me i will follow u

Thanks for the welcome!!! It seems disingenuine for me to follow you. I just looked at your posts...one of them glorifies marijuana and you freely call yourself a pot head. This post is all about my life or death struggle against such addictions. Don't get me wrong, I do not dislike you or pot or those that use it...especially those who use it as medicine. I do, however, have to not surround myself by those that glorify the use of mind altering substances. It is not good for my health. Thanks again for the welcome!!!!

@happy2b bro i was a pothead once and i came over it by fitness and aesthetics u hv to fight it and forget it not always live in shadow of its fear and dt post was about my pet not me if u read it carefully

ok...cool...I hope you understand my being careful...it is a matter of life and death for me. I will follow, so that I may learn more about fitness!!!! Thanks for taking the time to explain.

Yeah dude i will be very happy to help aesthetics is the best way to live a healthy and happier life

i will also live free...although...my addictions will always be a part of me...hence their shadow will always be there. I do not live in fear of them...however, I live with continuous of them. There is a difference.

LOL!!! I miss Jim Hensen...In translation............."MEEP!, meep meep meep meep!!!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90