A Homesteader Introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

20170514_185921 (2).jpg

After 100 plus posts on Steemit, I thought it would be time to do an introduction.

My name is Tim, and with my wife Joann, have been living off-grid for about five years. Our journey began together when we were married in 1971 when I was serving in the Air Force. The next 10 years, I worked in private industry and Joann was a stay-at-home mom for our two daughters. For the next 24 years we served as missionaries until we retired.

My grandfather’s name was Hans Jurgen , which is my user name on Steemit. He left Germany and came to the USA by himself at age 16 in the late 1800’s for a better life and married his wife Fredricka. To me he represents a spirit of adventure and a willingness to take a risk. This has been a driving force in my life to not always take the safe path, but to experience life as an adventure.

IMG_20171207_094201 (2).jpg

Joann and I were born in southern California, but over the years we have lived several times in Florida and Texas, and as missionaries we lived 10 years in Papua New Guinea.

When we decided to retire, we were faced with the decision of what we were going to do. I could not envision sitting at home and watching television all day, so when my son-in-law proposed the idea of buying land and moving off-grid we jumped at the idea. It was the kind of risk that appealed to us so we bought a mountain in the Ozarks to begin our off-grid lifestyle. (Our mountain is in the distant center).

20171124_104850 (3).jpg

Today, five years later, we live together with our son-in-law, Zac and our youngest daughter Jaimie, and their two sons Joshua and Kaleb. We have 56 acres homestead in the NW Arkansas Ozarks, raising sheep, chickens, turkeys, one cow, a big garden, and have various ventures to making our homestead pay for itself and being self-reliant.

IMG_20171212_072819 (2).jpg

Thanks for following us and we appreciate every up vote.

Cheers, Tim and Joann

                     ************************

Our “An American Homestead” family on Steemit:
Grandpa and Grandma: @hansjurgen
Daughter, son-in-law: @mericanhomestead
Grandson #1: @thehomeschoolkid
Grandson #2: Someday

For more articles and videos on off-grid homesteading and our on-line store visit https://anamericanhomestead.com/ also
https://www.patreon.com/AnAmericanHomestead

Sort:  

It is so great to hear your story. Like a good many people on here, we are very familiar with your son-in-law and daughter through their former YouTube channel, and hear about you a bit through that, but it is really good to read about you in your own words. I can't imagine moving to a new country alone at 16 years of age - that is true courage (or a love for adventure). Looking forward to more from you!

Maybe check out this contest, it is made to try and connect the members on steemit, make it more inclusive, get people exposure and to give people a chance to earn some SBD.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@zephy/story-time-introduce-yourself-contest-free-sbd-and-get-exposure-making-steemit-more-inclusive-and-welcoming

Great intro! I have watched many videos with you in them on youtube, and I was curious as to why you picked the name 'hansjurgen'. Now I know!
I love the lifestyle you have chosen and wish you many years of happiness doing so.
Thanks for the interesting post! Now, off to make more coffee... ;)

Excellent introduction! My favorite line:

we bought a mountain in the Ozarks

Talk about an adventure! Mountain survival! Off-grid living. Resteemed for exposure. Many people would be blessed by following your blog. Steem on! @ironshield

This is great, PERMACULTURE!
Don't forget to plant a million fruit trees! :)

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @hansjurgen to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcoem to the platform - you'll find many many homesteaders here to connect with! Kate

Great Introduction Tim! Your place is looking better and better. Blessings

Very inspirational. I've been thinking about doing the same thing but I'm still praying on it because I'm not sure if it's God's plan for me even though I would love to jump in head first :) I'm middle aged so I'd like to get moving but I need confirmation from the LORD. Any advice? I would love to know how you knew to do it. God Bless. Will follow :)

Great Story!!

Best of luck to you and your family!!

Love the off-grid idea, would love to follow that path one day..

Peace!

@jskronos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43