The Project Silver Leaf Dev Diary - 1. Vision

Welcome to the first Development Diary for Project Silver Leaf!
My name is Domenico Tozzi (aka Hairyfoot)  and I'm the developer and project lead for Project Silver leaf, a science fiction detective story within a point and click adventure. Prepare to follow me on my development journey as I keep you updated on my progress through the creation of the game, from the triumphs to the pitfalls.
The aim of this Dev Diary is to inform others who may be interested in developing their own game, so they can see the steps I took (whether those be the right or wrong ones) and learn from my experiences.
What is Project Silver Leaf?
The story of PSL is inspired by great works such as "The Automatic Detective", "Caves of Steel" and "The City And The City", with an emphasis on mystery and conspiracy, as well as following some of the hard-boiled detective tropes of the Noir genre. The story follows our protagonist, Gwen Moss, a London Met Police Detective who was injured in the line of duty during an illegal stim drug bust. After recovering from her wounds, she was promoted and hastily re-assigned to the Lunar Colony "New Leicester", an assignment seen as "soft" by her peers in the Met Police. It doesn't take long for things to go wrong, however, as a string of disappearances with a familiar M.O. on the colony prompts Gwen to take the investigation into her own hands.


The project is in the early concept stages at the moment, where the majority of the story has been drafted and the artistic direction has been established. The game will follow an Isometric perspective, and models have been created with that style in mind. As the dev team is very small (just me!), this will allow relatively large environments to be made to a high standard without as much of a time commitment to each area.

Early Environmental Development
Just to give you a taste of the visual style of PSL, I have included some screenshots of a very early Environment. This location is the Lunar Police Headquarters, and includes an office area, where the Superintendent oversees department investigations, and a set of police databases.


Going Forward
The format I plan to follow will be to upload a new main entry on a once weekly basis, with any smaller, interesting tidbits, such as development for individual assets posted as and when they are created (most likely once every couple of days).

I hope that you are looking forward to this journey as much as I am, and I welcome you to comment any ideas and feedback you may have during the development process.

Please don't forget to upvote anything that you find interesting or helpful, as I would love to bring some exposure to this project!

Signing out,
Hairyfoot

Sort:  

Looks good. Welcome to Steemit! Upvoted, commented, and followed! Your turn!

Thank you! I’ll check out your stuff :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52