@GYN, proud mom of a little GIANT Fighter!!!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello Steemit Family!!!

I just got approved to join this community… How lucky I am to be part of Steemit and I’ve got platform to spread my journey with my little GIANT FIGHTER... my son.

Let me introduce myself...

Hi everyone! My name is Andrea; you can call me “Gyn”, from Taguig City Philippines. I am a plain housewife with a little sari-sari store to manage and a proud mother of my son who has a Moebius Syndrome…

I was born in Cotobato City, and I would say life wasn’t easy. I have 4 siblings and we grew up in farm, yet I don’t regret it… my life is full of happy moments and should I say wisdom thought by our parents.

I graduated as BS Psychology and I was able to get a job in a burger chain here in Manila and that is where I met by partner in life, my poging hubby, Gerv haha.

To cut the story short, I got pregnant in January 2009, I could still remember how blessed we are, determined to give the most out of us as a parent. I could still remember the nights when we shared plans on upbringing our child.

And so the day comes for my ultra sound, we get up early and prepare ourselves to go to hospital.. On our way, we are so excited guessing it is a boy or a girl? Regardless of the gender, what is important is may the Lord bless him with a good health.

In the hospital, the doctor said, “Ma’am, higa po kayo and relax nyo lang po ang sarili nyo” and so the doctor start checking. After few minutes, the doctor said, “Congratulations Ma’am, Sir”…it a BABY BOY!!! We are so much happy on our way home..

And so, we patiently waited for our baby boy for 9 months, start building stuffs for him, pillows, towels, displays etc. (of course we chooses blue color).

We chooses lying-in to give birth for my child. Of course, the main reason is to be more practical, accessible and we are thinking that lying-in is best since there are focused personnel for each delivering patient.

I do remember, before the most anticipated “BIG DAY”, we encountered the should I say the “most devastating typhoon” that hits Manila in September 2009.. Typhoon Ondoy and quickly followed by Typhoon Pepeng..

Our area was quickly flooded then, and we need to transfer from our house to my hubby’s sister’s house because it has second floor. The flood was too high up to the neck. And thus, that night, we decided to look for a house for rent since my due date is nearly coming.. and with the lord’s guidance and help, we found a small room near the lying-in where I am scheduled to deliver.

Then, the BIG DAY comes... in October 3, 2009, around 2am. I gave birth to our baby boy. His name is GYAN MIGUEL, “Gyan” is a combination of our name and “Miguel” is in honor of our patron saint- St. Michael.
![PICT1779.JPG]
PICT0672.JPG
PICT0024.JPG

Our life was filled with more happiness with Gyan, his little eyes, cute red lips, small face, black hair.. I could say I am contented. Days easily comes by, and together with my hubby nurtured our growing son.

We decided that I will not go for work to focus to Gyan until such time that he is grown up and we could let others to look after him. Growing up, I have seen a distinct feature to Gyan’s face, either he is crying or he is laughing, his face does not have reactions as if his face was just a mask. I even told my hubby that .our son has a talent..”si Gyan may talent, tumatawa at umiiyak ng walang reaction sa mukha”.

PICT1918.JPG

And so we started asking his pedia about this distinct feature on his face, yet as per doctor, since Gyan was just nearly 1 year old, it will change when he grew up.

One night, when my hubby arrived from work, after eating his late dinner, while watching TV, out of nowhere, he turn it to GMA channel (he usually watch Channel 2 only). But that night, probably it was God’s plan, he turned the channel to GMA and he was able to see the closing billboard hosted by Jessica Soho, it was entitled “Damdaming Walang Mukha”.

According to him, he seems to see a featured boy on that episode that looks like and acts like Gyan, and so we started to be curious and we begin looking and checking answers from internet. We were able to see that documentary and we found out that the disease featured was called ‘Moebius Syndrome”.

After seeing that documentary, it becomes the darkest time of our life.. Suddenly our happy home was filled with silence, we only talk about casual things, we started to throwing accusations with each other.. For almost one week, we became such a worthless parent, we even ask God, of all people why.. Why us? We didn’t do anything bad to anyone… it was so dreadful that I don’t even want to remember it.

And so after that dreadful long week, we started talk to each other again, now calmer, we started taking it seriously and deal the situation. I remember, we said to each other that regardless of what syndrome it is, it was already there and we need to face it.. we need to deal with it.. our son’s life is at stake.. and so ACCEPTANCE came in…

From then on, acceptance, prayers and our love becomes our greatest weapon.

God has a purpose, he lead us to become the parents of this wonderful child. He maybe chooses us to become a better person not just for ourselves but of course for Gyan.

20151205_112245.jpg

And now, I am proud to say.. Gyan is already 8 years old, he can’t walk by himself, and he can’t speak a word, but I knew he also chooses to fight. And we will support him all the way.

I may not be a professional career woman, I may not be good in writing, I may just be a plain housewife but I may say, my greatest purpose in my life is to take care of our little GIANT fighter, our son Gyan.

I enjoin everyone to support us on our goal to spread more awareness on a rare disease – MOEBIUS SYNDROME.

Just to give everyone an idea of what is Moebius Syndrome – it is a rare neurological disorder characterized by weakness or paralysis (palsy) of multiple cranial nerves, which primarily affects the muscles that control facial expression and eye movement.

https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/moebius-syndrome/

DISCLAIMER: The content is original.

Please support the Smart Media Token @teardrop project by Sir @surpassinggoogle and follow https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens on Facebook.

Please also support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Acknowledgment:@surpassinggoogle, @teardrops, @steemgigs, @ourmamaterry, @junebride for the gif, @g10a for the footer

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

happy and im glad thank you!

Gyan is such a brave little fighter and I pray he receives the miracle he needs. Amen

@bookoons thank you for the prayers,we always pray for my son especially for his health and hope he can stand all by himself too.

Wow finally you're here friend. Welcome in Steemit and our #steemitachievers family! Hipe your son will be okay. Don't forget to follow me back to update more of my post. Break a leg friend! Yeheey!

thank you so much shane for helping me.

I know gyan is a brave baby... keep fighting little kid. welcome to steemit maam

yes he is! thank you @jun2.

Welcome to Steemit! I'm glad to see you getting involved here and joining in. I hope your experience here is pleasant!

@lopezdacruz thanks my friend!

Hello maam., welcome to #steemit..

thank you sir! @g10a.. (-:

welcome to steemit. wish you the very best

thanks friend @a1baes, :-)

Thanks for sharing your story. Welcome to Steem!

thank you sir!

Inspiring message and story of yours @gyn. i also hav a daughter and she's 9 year young now. parents be like here and welcome to steemit!

hello @esmeescobar thanks for liking my story..yes for me taking care of my son who has a syndrome is very challenging ;-) thanks for welcoming me here.

Welcome to steemit community and best of luck for future.

@ansarmehmood thank you for that wishes:-)see you around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34