Introducing Me!steemCreated with Sketch.

Geez, I haven’t written a non-academic introduction in about ten years. Please bear with me. Perhaps I should interview myself…

So, who are you and where are you from?

I’m Simone. 24 years old, software upgrade support for a local software company in Napier, New Zealand. I’ve lived in New Zealand since I was 4 years old, but originally hail proudly from Cape Town, South Africa. If you ever meet me, you’ll find I have a strange mixture of an accent that Kiwis identify as odd, and Saffas identify as Kiwi/Ozzy.
IMG_0798.JPG
Beautiful summer's day in Napier.

What do you do for fun?

I have more hobbies and interests than I have time for, but at the moment my (fun) free time is spent either reading, gaming or doing Taekwondo. I started Taekwondo in November 2016 and I’m taking it slow through the grades. This year will be the year I finally win a gold medal (fingers crossed). Also, I'm a big nerd, so take from that what you like.

Why are you starting a blog?

At the beginning of this year, my husband and I sat down and made a list of New Year’s Resolutions. I made 31 resolutions; blogging wasn’t one of them. But, I thought that starting a blog might help bring some accountability to reaching those resolutions. So here I am, and I’m excited! Now I suppose you’re wondering what kind posts you might expect from me on Steemit. And, I can’t really narrow it down for you. You’ll find reviews on video games, books, movies and maybe even music. You might also find strange posts about whatever strange ideas rattle around in my brain. And occasionally, I’ll post about the projects I’ve been working on, and the challenges and successes I’ve overcome. You can also expect some random photography here and there that will give you a taste of New Zealand life and how I find the strangest things interesting enough to capture.

I couldn’t find a ‘nice’ picture of me, so here’s me as a gif instead.
2018-03-30 033159 +0000.GIF

Sort:  

I couldn't really concentrate on the last sentences because of the scary gif =)

But I think if one of your New Years goals was to blog, than you are more than right here =)

Have a nice time on Steemit, I#M curious what you'll write about...

Hey Simone!

I get mistaken for New Zealand and South African (and British) literally every day... so I get you.

You're hilarious! Amazing intro post!

Welcome to Steem! That gif is killer!
If you ever have any questions about Steem or the various platforms, please do feel free to ask, I know it can be confusing sometimes, so I'm totally happy to help!

Have fun!

Hello Simone! Welcome to Steemit! I used to be active in Taekwondo too but quit after black belt :-)

Hey that's cool! ITF or WTF? How long ago?

Hello and welcome to Steemit! Just a little tip for you to get more exposure. Make sure you always add 5 different markwords (introduceyourself).

Hey hey hey! Welcome again :)

Some quick pointers: Rather keep your payout to 50/50 than Steem Power only ( Three blue stripes next to your post will show if you've chosen this option) The internal market is a bit wonky so you get waaay less payout on a post if you chose this option. 50/50 splits your payout between steem power and steem dollars. You can always use your steem dollars to buy more steem to convert to steem power.

Beware of links posted in your wallet as memo's and also beware o flinks to upvote or resteeming purposes. If you click on a link and it looks like you've been signed out of steemit don't log back in! The url will look wonky and it's how they steal your key. Rather navigate back.

If you think someone's gotten hold of your keys change your password as soon as you can.

Other things: Check out the @steemitbasicincome group. I'll sub you.
You've got some awesome comments from people here already who would be great to follow back : @freshfive and @aussieninja.

Being on Dischord does help. you might need to see if there is a #NewZealand group.

See you around :)

Thank you! I think I'll be on training wheels for quite a while :D

Simone! You are hilarious! That gif...

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-march-29th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

We have a new competition at the moment too. Here are the details:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-new-fresh-five-delegation-for-curation-initiative-help-find-great-new-steemians-and-be-rewarded-with-sp

Welcome to Steem!

Congratulations @gymbeann, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps that have been worked out by experts?


Would you put your family or your friends first if you had to choose one?

Hi @gymbeann Welcome to Steemit!

steemitComment.png
We are excited to see you join us here! Steemit is a remarkable platform that is built to reward users for creating quality content. Its a logic called proof of brain.

As for TechChat, think of us as DJs that create tech content instead of music. We create content by looking for the most shocking, interesting, and exciting breakthroughs in the tech space. Basically - we do all the research so you dont have to.

We hope to hear your opinion on TechChat’s content! We always love to hear from our community.

Happy Steeming 🚀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66