Divesting from corporate social media in 2018. New to Steemit!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

maxresdefault.jpg

Greetings fellow Steemit users,

I have decided to leave Facebook, Twitter, Google/Youtube and the like behind in 2018. Why continue to use services that spy, cheat, lie, and exploit me and have no respect for my privacy? I wouldn't send advertisers and the NSA updates willingly about myself, so why pay for services I am using by doing that. Why are we all supporting corporations that we hate because other people around us do?

Beyond that, I don't want to communicate or be friends with the majority of people who use these services. These are the same people who listen to pop music, watch romantic comedies and sitcoms, and believe one of the two political parties has their best interests at heart. Their jokes are corny, I don't care about their babies or their dinner, or what politician they worship. It's just not worth the time spent anymore for me. I've been trying to stay away from these people my entire life. I listen to underground music, the films I like are considered "wierd" or "boring", and politically consider myself an anarchist "without adjectives". Are these services catering to people like me? No.

When I first arrived at "the internet" these people were rare (And even more rare on BBS's). Things like censorship or advertisers data mining were unheard of and would have been vigorously fought against then.

I've been trying out Steemit, Minds, Mastadon, Bitchute, Diaspora, and GAB. Steemit seems promising because for one thing rather than giving up your privacy and information as payment for using it, you have an opportunity to make money. It's also kind of a combination of Facebook, a blog like Wordpress and Youtube which works perfectly for me since I am a documentary filmmaker.

Anyway I will be posting about topics I have made and/or plan on making documentaries about and generally stuff that interests me like documentary films, anarchism, science, animal liberation/rights, and anarcho, crust, folk, and punk music. If I had to quickly sum up my worldview it would be that modern civilization as being implemented by society has been detrimental to society. I don't agree with people like John Zerzan or Derrick Jensen that we should throw the baby out with the bathwater and go back to completely primitive ways nor could we even if we wanted to. If people had control of their own communities I don't think they would agree to pollute their land base, destroy the wildlife that lives there, or exploit their fellow citizens the way all of this is done now.

Sort:  

"I've been trying to stay away from these people my entire life."

Ha! I so resemble that remark =p

Welcome to Steemit!

While I do agree on the privacy stuff, I beg to differ on the latter. As one who enjoys watching rom-coms and sitcoms, everyone just have different taste and we should respect them for it. Anyways, welcome to SteemIt. :)

Welcome to the best community ever. Hope you'll have good time here. Gud people are waiting for you... Feel free to share what you like with me and be in touch @sarinakhan

Thanks for joining us.
Your work is vital to getting the word out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54