Introducing my Vogon self

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello Steemit!

Surely, my real name is not Vogonesque and I'm not an alien suffering from graphomania but this is how I wish to be known here. In my twenty-something years on Earth I've been a part of many online communities - from Livejournal (remember that old thing?) to niche and obscure B-movie and crust punk forums. The only problem was that I would discover those communities as they were slowly fading. People were switching platforms, abandoning thousands of threads. That made me lose interest and leave as well. What brought me here is the possibility to participate in a community from its early stages and live to tell the story.

I'll probably be posting a fair bit of poems and essay style blog posts, maybe a book review here and there. I'm a sucker for board games, Middle Eastern cultures, language learning, cycling, hiking, walking tours and small Medieval towns. Hopefully, someone else here will find my perspective on things interesting enough to read through. If not, I'll be glad to have a convenient place to vent and collect the stuff I care about.

And here's a fun fact about Vogons (if that's why you dropped by!)

Gillray_-_John_Bull_taking_a_Luncheon.jpg

According to Garth Jennings, the director behind the screen adaptation of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, the depiction of Vogons in the film was based on works of James Gillray (see picture above).

And here's a taste of Vogon poetry (taken from the book):

"Oh freddled gruntbuggly,
Thy micturations are to me
As plurdled gabbleblotchits on a lurgid bee.
Groop, I implore thee, my foonting turlingdromes,
And hooptiously drangle me with crinkly bindlewurdles,
Or I will rend thee in the gobberwarts
With my blurglecruncheon, see if I don't!"

I aspire to deliver something of similar substance to this platform.

So, fingers crossed for a great ride!

Sort:  

Welcome to our community :D

Thanks! Good to be here, @steemik

Welcome to Steem @gurney I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hello @gurney! Welcome to steemit! :)

Hi @gurney, "Welcome to Steemit" Greetings know, hopefully with your presence give a new color in steemit, hopefully with expertise you have can add insight for readers who use steemit account wherever they are. And do not forget, If you are a person who likes to read short stories and a poet lover, you can browse and read on my account at @alanmirza. There I write it. Thank you, compact greeting always. Best regards steemers :)

Excelent poetry! Thank you so much for sharing! I send you a warm hug from Argetina 🇦🇷! Write me for what you need

Wow awesome post !! :) Woud love to see more Your account was recently created so I thought I'd say hi and welcome you. This post deserves an upvote and full steem ahead! As you are new to steemit, getting those first upvotes are gonna be hard so maybe you want to try Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and a great tutorial as well. Have a nice day and lets earn more together. Also, you can follow me with more updated posts :)

welcome to Steemit @Gurney :) Glad to see more people like you - here joining Steemit! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Nice post, welcome here @gurney. I like Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, so the Vogons caught my attention :D

Glad there are more fans out here, @pipiczech!

Welcome to Steemit! If you have questions - ask me @dobroman

Reminiscent of the Jabberwocky. Welcome.

Love me some Lewis Carroll! Thanks, @coldsteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84