Hi Steemit, Greg here

A little about myself and how I got into Crypto-currencies.
me

About me

I am married and the father of two boys ages 21 and 18. I have had the pleasure of watching my sons grow into fine young men and I'm extremely proud of them. They are around here somewhere, probably hanging out in the games or politics areas. Also in our family is our dog Brownie. This is when she first came into our family. baby

Here she is in her favorite spot, relaxing next to my chair. She loves to have me lightly stroke her fur or rub her paw whenever I sit down to use the computer or watch TV. If I stop, she will nudge my hand as a gentle reminder to continue caressing her.
relaxing

She's quite fashionable. Here she is showing off her new raincoat.
new coat

My Hobbies

One of my favorite activities is baking. There's nothing like the taste of fresh baked bread. This is last nights loaf just out of the oven and cooling on the rack.
sliced

Care to try some?

sliced

My other passion is crypto-currencies. I first heard about Bitcoin back in 2012. I think Bitcoin was trading for about $10 then. I read an article about how you could "mine" coins using your computer. Of course being a pragmatist, I dismissed it completely and got back to work. But over the next two years, I kept reading more and more about it. Finally, two years ago I broke down and bought me this antminer.

ant

And I was hooked. I ran that little miner non-stop until the price of Bitcoins dropped below $300 and I knew it was costing more to find the coins than they were worth. So I gave it to my son, who ran it in his dorm room for free. But I didn't stop there, I followed other coins like Ethereum, mining ones that looked promising and could be mined with either a GPU or CPU. And then one day I read about a new coin called Steem.

And Here We Are

At first I was just interested in mining Steem. But you could only mine Steem using a Unix OS at the time and I'm a Windows guy. So I waited and waited. And read a little more about Steem and Steemit. And the more I read the more I liked the idea of Steemit. Now I'm hooked on Steemit and am excited about where it's going and all the new pieces like the Market and Escrow service. I got so excited by Steemit, that I took the plunge and converted a couple computers over the Ubuntu so I could mine Steem.

So that's a little about me and how I got here. I'm eagerly looking forward to the future of Steemit and joining all of you on that journey.

Sort:  

Upvoted you

Thank you, glad to be here.

Great to have you around!

Thanks Wang bot!

Hey, you gotta be nice to the bots, someday they will be our Overlords.

LOL; Could you post your favorite bread recipe?

Yes please do! I was just about the ask the same thing. I tried making some sourdough bread a while back and ended up with a sourbrick bread lol Teach us your ways Gregory!

The loaf pictured above is a basic white. For a 1.5 lb loaf I use the following:

8.5 oz (250ml) warm water
1.5 tbs vegetable oil
1 tsp sea salt
3 cups unbleached flower
2 tsp active dry yeast

I noticed Steemit does not have a baking category yet. I think I'll start the category with a post showing this recipe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 66997.36
ETH 3681.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77