Hello Steemit! Dreams do come true!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemit!

My name is Evy and I feel delighted to submit my first post! I joined the Steemit community a couple days ago, and have spent some time reading through various articles on how to get started. Now, I am ready to contribute!


True confessions: I took this photo two days ago!

About me:

I was born in Chicago, and have lived there for 32 years. I've worked in higher education for 10 years and also teach yoga as well as group fitness. Well, I DID do those things- until I quit my jobs a few weeks ago to travel with my husband. More on that in a bit!

And yes, my husband Jason- he's right down there on the left. Is it too soon to declare my obsession with him? I'll wait. We got married in September of 2014 and took our honeymoon the following summer- to Spain. Little did we know, that trip would change our lives. Ninja edit: Little did HE know, that trip would change our lives. My infatuation with Spain roots back to high school Spanish class. I knew, to an extent, what I was getting myself into with that vacation. More on that, too.


We're so serious.


Additionally, I am an avid salsa/bachata dancer as well as a fitness enthusiast. I tend to be drawn to activities that challenge my mind and the strength of my body- at the same time. Dancing, interval training, wake boarding, yoga, slack-lining, handstands.


I got it eventually!


Noting the moment that I can't do something, and deciding that I can and will accomplish it- those small victories propel me forward each day with a little extra pep. I hope to share a bit of these pieces with you in future posts. Also, it would be wrong of me to omit my adoration for food. Food is fuel, and man, do I fuel up! Food will likely make its way into future posts- I'm salivating already.


Once you make homemade hummus, it's difficult to go back to living the life you once had.

My story:

I have a habit of getting an idea stuck in my head, and then working with my whole heart to make it happen (as you may have noted by my hobbies). But I can't help it- I call it goal setting. I want to be the best version of myself not only for myself, but for those that I love and encounter each day- as a wife, daughter, sister, friend, employee, teacher, student, volunteer, etc. A thrilling way to live this life, in my opinion.

About a year ago, soon after returning from our honeymoon, I presented an idea to my life mate, rooted in my sincere belief that he is capable of accomplishing anything. It came to me on a drive home one Sunday morning, after teaching a yoga class. I remember the moment so vividly, and the nervousness in Jason's voice when I phoned him to proclaim,

"I have an idea... and we need to have a really serious conversation when I get home... and I just really need you to hear me out before you say no!"

We sat on the bed, and with tears filling my eyes and my heart exploding with excitement I remember saying,

"What if we didn't live with caution and just acted? What if we pursued the adventurous version of our dream, rather than the practical version?... What do you think?"



And I remember my husband's response-

"I think sometimes you can be overly ambitious... but let's try it."

After months of researching schools, completing applications, formatting spreadsheets, and crossing fingers [and tears, anxiety, hugs, and little pep rallies in our living room], Jason accepted an offer to attend a Masters of Data Science program at the University of Dundee in Scotland, beginning in January 2017! And to top it off, he was approved for a sabbatical leave at his job!


We may have fostered some puppies somewhere in these months.

As part of his sabbatical, prior to his program's start, we will spend two months living in and volunteering throughout Spain- helping, learning, growing together. In December, we will settle down in Dundee, Scotland!

So yes, I quit my jobs (after working three to save up money), we moved out of our Chicago apartment (crashed with my mom for a couple months), and did much research on how to prepare for backpacking through Spain (while also preparing for a move to Scotland).



Cheers to the next two months in Spain!

The journey just started this week in Barcelona, actually, and I am eager to share our adventures with you as we figure out this traveling lifestyle together! Join us!

"Only those who risk going too far can possibly figure out how far one can go."
-T.S. Eliot

Sort:  

Welcome. My hobbies include force-choking, force-crushing, using the force to throw objects at people... and torturing my daughter's boyfriend.

Thanks man! I taught her all the format tricks you taught me!

haha! brilliant. knowledge spreads :)

40 Rep already! See people know you will be a great contributor.

Welcome goaldigger! You are going to be a very valuable member of this community!

Thank you hanshotfirst! I'm so excited to have joined! Thank you for sharing your knowledge with me!

Welcome to Steemit! If you would like to see statistics of any post on Steemit, you can use Steemd.com. I have made a bookmark for your convenience in accessing Steemd. https://steemit.com/steemd/@craigwilliamz/steemd-statistics-bookmark-for-easy-access-to-steemd

I feel kind of sad, you didn't welcome me and make me a link. Regardless, I love that you are greeting the newcomers! People need to feel someone is seeing what they write. :)

Sorry about that. It appears though that I was punished for doing so. Rep hit zero so I stopped welcoming new people. :)

Welcome. Amazing intro post. It should have gotten more attention.

Thank you for reading! Glad you enjoyed it.

Welcome to steemit goaldigger!! And welcome to spain!!
If you want I can help with Spain. I'm from Valencia. I don't know if it is in your itinerary ). If you want advice from a native here I am .

Enjoy your trip.

Thank you martaspn! We actually just arrived to Valencia from Barcelona last night! Any suggestions you have would be welcomed. We've already fallen in love with this city!

OMG! Now I feel pressure !! Not even what your tastes !!

You have to go to l' albufera . It's a reservoir with a beautiful sunset. You can make a boat ride . It's very cheap. Because the boatmen live there and are farmers . They are not companies.

You ought to eat paella. It is mandatory . But if you want to try the authentic one you must go to malvarosa beach.

A walk along the Turia may be fine . There is always good atmosphere. At the end you will find yourself with la ciutat de les arts i les ciencies (and n the middle there is a giant gulliver with slides suitable for fun adults)

You need to try hortxata en fartons to snack

I don't know what else to tell you! But ask me specific things if you need

Haha! Awesome- thank you! We enjoyed some delicious paella yesterday night in the Carmen neighborhood. Today we explored the central market and surrounding area as well as Ruzafa neighborhood, and visited the botanic garden (and the cats!)
We will make tomorrow a beach day and incorporate your Malvarosa beach and paella suggestions. And hortxata! :)

Welcome to steemit! I bet it's a lot of work to manage all those puppies but glad to see them away from shelters :)

It was crazy town! But, all six puppies had adoptions lined up as well as their mama! Sad to say goodbye, but so lovely for them to each find a forever home! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46