Introducing GJART - electronic music influenced by The Human League / Depeche Mode

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Our first post to introduce ourselves was a bit rubbish as we were new to the platform and didn't quite know what we are doing. So now, three weeks on we thought we'd do a second one and try and get it right this time!

GJART was created in 2015 by me, Tim Godbehere. In reality it has been over 30 years in the making. As a huge fan of electronic music since the early 80s, I always wanted to play and write music. As a child a 'musical ear' was spotted and channeled into playing the flute (definitely not my choice - I sold it for a computer few years later!). Whilst I did not relish the flute, in hindsight it gave me the theory to drawn upon now.

TgSmall.jpg

Like many others, I was directed towards academia and before I really knew it I was working in a very uncreative job - but I was grateful to have one during those years of very high unemployment. Then of course you get used to the money and when you start to look at really creative jobs you quickly realise they pay really badly. So I put all my energy in to building a corporate career and slowly moved in to Marketing and then Communications. Working for big corporates in London is demanding and leaves little in the tank to invest in to other things. So my musical ambitions remained on hold for many more years.

IMG_0002.jpg

A series of premature family deaths in 2014 cemented a "what is life all about" moment and I left the rat-race and headed to Southern Spain. There with a clear mind, time and energy I finally began to realise my ambition. I started to compose electronic music using GarageBand and to think about the band name and identity. The name comes from my initials; green was selected because there is very little else using this tint and it really stands out; the mountain was used because my second biggest passion is skiing. I also wanted to have a graphical element in the logo that could be played with (you'll see this in some of the covers).

LettersGreenJPG2017.jpg

From the summers of 2015 to 2017 I worked on many tracks, eventually selecting the best 10 for a debut album. During those two years I put demos up on SoundCloud to gauge reaction and build up a strong following. In June 2017 Revelation was ready and was released to Spotify and other streaming sites. It contains 10 instrumental tracks from synth pop to EDM and trance with a chillout end. The tracks are progressively being uploaded to dSound so check out our blog to hear them.

fireprooftitle.jpeg

During the promotion of Revelation I came across a fantastic site for musicians http://www.atomcollectorrecords.com I put our music on there and our streams and followers really took off. Our music also caught the eye of BetaPSI who contacted me to ask if I would be interested in doing a collaboration. I listened to her work and immediately loved her style so agreed. I sent her a demo of Fireproof and she added her magic to it. She encouraged me to sing on it and I can't thank her enough for that as she gave me the confidence that I lacked. She also created this cool video https://steemit.com/music/@gjart/fireproof-by-gjart-video - oh, and we've never met face to face!

Since the summer of 2017 I've been busy on new tracks, our latest Lost hit 1,000 Spotify plays in under a month. Which is just incredible and shows that hard work and persistence pays off. It's here on dSound too https://steemit.com/dsound/@gjart/lost-by-gjart

So, if you made it this far, thanks for reading and I hope you found this better than our first intro! Let us know by giving it an upvote.

Sort:  

Hi
Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.
coffee.jpg

Thanks for the welcome. We'll be swinging by your page shortly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41