Hi Steemians! I'm Moa and I fled the rat race to live on an island


This is me in our vegetable garden with a Steemit zucchini. I'm Moa from Sweden and I decided to move to a little island in the archipelago, without cars and a sheep farmer as only neighbor all year round. (For the verification: I was going to post this yesterday but it got too late. Please let me know if I should provide a new verification picture from today)

I'm really happy that my boyfriend showed me Steemit and finally I've made my first posts. Although my bf told me a few weeks ago that there almost where no girls on Steemit and that my post would do great, the thought of sharing personal stuff for a reward just got me stressed. Everything has it's time and Steemit is still so, so young but I'm very excited to see the progress of this platform and community! Looking at other crypto-projects, (i think) Steemit´s success will be that it already has such diversity among the users - I read a post that stated more women is owning steem than any other crypto.(correct me if I'm wrong) And I like the tone here, where nice and constructive contributions in the comments are valued.

For Swedish readers I just started a channel on the steemit.chat - join here.

I’ve worked at a network for business owners in Sweden and has a background as a journalist in health, business and a tech. I'm also blogging for Women's Health magazine. Lately I've started to value other things than a career in life. After working too much, and after a long time neglecting signs that I had to slow down I finally got stressed out. I never want to go back to that feeling. Whether I liked it or not, I was trapped in the rat race.


Rowing for dinner at a friend on an next-by island in march. When it's time to row home, it's completely dark.

So I gave up my apartment in central Stockholm, took a break from everything work-related, projects and 'after-work' with colleagues, and moved out to a small island in the archipelago, which has really helped me feeling more free and calm. Now I'm exploring new and more sustainable ways of living.

We grow a lot of vegetables and berries, even at wintertime, in greenhouse and inside. I spend a lot less money. I spend much more time outside (and nowadays on Steemit too). I've started to get more energy even if it's a struggle sometimes.

Also I've traded my first alt crypto coins! So far I have not been burned. I was lucky when I made my first investment in Bitcoin at ~370 dollar so it was a good first experience. Now I’ve started to and learn more about other crypto currencies and blockchain projects, two of them are LBRY a user owned digital library and Waves Platform, that is working on a decentralized crowdfunding platform. I'm planning to write more about this, and certainly also about life on the island, food, health, meditation, running and much more.


This spring I went from never running to running a half marathon (more about that in another post).

See you!
Moa

Sort:  

wellcome

Welcome to Steemit, very good story, I hope it get's notified amongst the trash posts :)

Thank you so much! :)

welcome. awesome pics. lovely place. the lifestyle choice I'm contemplating.

Thank you, hope is goes well!!

wow, it looks so beautiful there. I dream of living on a quiet little island like that :)

Nice story Moa ! I also left the NYC rate-race and moved to an island :) I am in Bali since 1999 ! Looking forward to read more . See you at Slackchat where I saw your link #steemitcolab

Thank you @mammasitta! Oh great to hear, and good decision! Bali seems so beautiful, really want to go there some day :) See you on Slack!

Hi! From JAPAN !! Good post, I like your lifestyle !! Keep going !!!

Välkommen to steem.

In the basket, are those edible flowers? The location looks fantastic!!!

Tack! They are! The yellow ones are Indian cress and the blue ones are borage/starflower :)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tropaeolum_majus
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Borage

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36