The making of GikiTiki

Giki_Head_Trans.gif

What is a GikiTiki?


I have been asked a couple of times what gikitiki means.

Some think it's related to Quagmire in Family Guy - sort of a play on Giggity-Giggity. As amusing as that is to me, that's not it.

Like many on Steemit, I'm a Systems Engineer (living in Canada). I spend my days trying to figure out other peoples computer problems. I work at a company that designs computers, so when the problems arise, they are usually "interesting" ones. To keep the mood light, I started wearing tiki shirts to work on a regular basis. (I've also been to Hawai'i quite a few times and love their culture - particularly 'da Big Island).

So ... back in 2008, I started using the handle of gikitiki as in "A geek with a Polynesian flare."


I've been on Steemit for a little more than a year, I tend to read more posts than I create, but I definitely enjoy the posts on here and like to comment on the posts I enjoy the most. Looking around Steemit, I noticed that everyone has there own logos. I decided it was time to make myself a logo. With the Tiki style in mind, I thought it would be interesting to virtually carve a tiki.

So, I grabbed my tools (MS Paint and a mouse), took a 2-D blog of brown pixels and got to work...

For a normal tiki, the head is the same size as the rest of the body. So I started there.


tiki01.png

Then some arms


tiki02.png


A little bit of a neck


tiki03.png

Some pectoral muscles


tiki04.png

Legs are nice


tiki05.png

Hands and Feet

tiki07.png

Abdomen and Groin (note:When the Christians arrived at the Polynesian Islands, they cut off all the Phallus' from all Tiki Statues they found)


tiki10.png

Time to spend a little time at the gym (Some refer to this as burning the Steem Fat)



tiki12.png

First Attempt at a face - it didn't match the style of the body, so it didn't make the "cut"



tiki13.png

Changed the face - the nose looks a little ... suspicious so far... I'll say that it looks like the Peace Tower at our Parliament building



tiki15.png

Added some Eyes and Teeth

tiki17.png

Now some glasses and a little colour


tiki20.png


No geek it complete without the stereotypical pocket protector and the tape holding the glasses together.


gikitiki_trans.gif

"That is my Happy Face!!"

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @gikitiki! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

@gikitiki hello let welcome you on board steemit is a great experience hope you enjoy it, found this article helpful if you want to get more followers fast using steemfollower , hope it helps you add more followers https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@joendegz/steemfollower-the-easiest-way-to-get-followers
or go to this link
https://steemfollower.com/?r=4552
and click on "exchange" on the drop down menu click on "follow exchange"

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 2.54 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @gikitiki. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Way ahead of you. I've had my @zeartul witness vote in for a long time. Tell pops that he's a swell guy. Just like your belly.

Congratulations @gikitiki! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

interested post. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82