From Small Town USA to San Francisco

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm Jeff but most people call me Gibby. I've spent over a decade working in technology and software engineering. I was born and raised in Montana and spent most of my life in the great outdoors exploring and enjoying the wilderness.

In January 2015 after 29 years living in my hometown I decided that I needed a change, I longed to be a big fish in a big pond. I wanted to move to the heart of technology. I landed a job with a software company called Atlassian and was to be part of a massive program of work to re-architect our entire back office systems. I'd never lived outside my home town and rarely traveled, this would be the craziest adventure of my life.

My entire life fit into half of this trailer! I ended up throwing away most of what I owned, including 25 years worth of computer parts and cables which I'd hoarded. I decided to sell my Jeep and just use public transportation. Within a couple weeks I was packed and ready to leave. I shut the trailer, said goodbye to my family and boarded a plane to San Francisco to start my new life.

Since I've moved to the Bay Area I've done some very cool and interesting things in technology. I've met a lot of very smart people and become much more advanced in my career. It hasn't always been easy to deal with the amount of change living in a massive population center, but it has been worth it.

My job allows to travel to Sydney out our main office a few times a year so I occasionally sound like an Aussie after a couple beers.

It became clear that technology and software had given me a life that was impossible to achieve without it.

I've found that I really like to mentor people who are new to the area and technology. Especially those who haven't haven't had a lot of opportunities in life. One of the coolest things I've done is that I created web design learning content for survivors of human trafficking at Google's sf office.

I've been involved with a lot of groups helping people learn web design. I love to teach and get people excited about technology, especially kids.

These kids all come from low income families in rural Montana. The mill shut down in their town and most of the people in the town lost their jobs. Together we learned to build solar powered robots and raced them. My hope is that someday they realize that technology can take them as far as they want to go.

Sort:  

Welcome Gibby 😃follow me and I will follow you 👍

Howdy Gibby (Jeff)

And welcome to Steem! Glad to see someone with heart and technology to be joining the ranks.

source img

Welcome to steemit @gibby

Welcome to steemit!
Follow me at @digitaldollar

Congratulations @gibby! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

welcome :) .. follow me @secter

Welcome to Steemit Gibby!

Welome to steemit gibby! Im new as well, would like to see some of your post and maybe you could sharesome tios in web designs. I used to live inthe bay area 4 yrs ago.

Congratulations @gibby! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50