Hey There, I'm Cody & I'm an Entrepreneur Striving To Build A More Sustainable Future

Hello Steemit Family!


I'm Cody, a young aspiring entrepreneur striving to build a more sustainable future that's just discovering steemit!

May of 2015 I graduated High School from my hometown in Waynesboro TN.  Coming from a small county with a population of around 2,450 between three towns, it's safe to say not everyone had the drive to be all they could be. People here are content with where they are & don't really strive to accomplish all they can or even set goals for that matter.  

Up to my first year of collage, I spent most of my extra time putting in work at a local restaurant by the name of Emeralds. (The food is awesome.. if you are ever in town you have to stop by) It was at Emeralds I worked my way up from being a dishwasher to respected lead kitchen cook. Mrs. Glenda Francis was the owner who spent 30 years building the best restaurant in the county, this woman taught me more about entrepreneurship than anyone.  

Her passing due to a brain aneurysm had a major impact on what I would do next.

I've always been an entrepreneur.. through my final years of High School I was building Shopify stores and drop-shipping products with the help of Facebook ads along with some affiliate marketing. The first year of collage came around I had decent money coming in, the girl of my dreams, a badass car, and still something felt as if it was missing.. 

I was now in a relationship with my High School sweetheart for coming up on 5 years but I couldn't get away from the thoughts of what else was out there.. Everyone close to my age spent their weekends the same way with the same people doing the same things. People were so content with where they were.. never growing.. never better than the day before.. just the same. Same ole same ole. 

Finally I was done.. I came to the realization that success is found in perseverance and that the only way I would grow to my best self was to separate from all of the negative &  surround myself with like minded people that knew what they wanted out of life. It was time to head my calling & begin my journey as the master of my universe. So I cut my ties & hit the road. 

A More Sustainable Future.. 

 My journey through the U.S.  has brought me to Washington State which has helped me to realize many things. Mother Earth, our common home, faces more challenges today than ever before. Our wasteful, single use society has polluted our oceans with plastics, raped our rain forests with chain saws and covered our land with toxic chemicals. The industrial revolution powered by coal and other fossil fuels ran by corrupt power hungry politicians  has failed Mother Earth – and the common good for all.

Let's face it.. thanks to our carbon footprint as a species our planet is dying. Fast.   

Global climate change has already had observable effects on the environment. Glaciers have shrunk, ice on rivers and lakes is breaking up earlier, plant and animal ranges have shifted and trees are flowering sooner. Effects that scientists had predicted in the past would result from global climate change are now occurring: loss of sea ice, accelerated sea level rise and longer, more intense heat waves.

We have to be the change we wish to see if we want to see change. We are all pieces of the puzzle but unless we come together we will be unable to see the bigger picture. 

 To build an advanced, sustainable society requires changes to our lifestyles, models of production and consumption, and the existing structures of global power and commerce. 

 An ideal approach to climate change mitigation includes the following objectives.
​Industrial Hemp can be used to achieved many of these objectives.

  • Sequestration of atmospheric carbon dioxide and/or reduced fossil fuel consumption.
  • Prevent the destruction of natural ecosystems (biodiversity).
  • It would not burden developing countries with costly socio-economic regulations.
  • It would not require significant changes to current land use (i.e.,displacing people or activities).
  • It would have a minimal environmental impact and/or addressother environmental/pollution problems.
  • It would also provide (socially equitable) economic incentives for global implementation.
  • It would allow for sustainable building of fire, rot, insect, mold, resistant homes

Industrial Hemp can't get you high and has been around for a long time. For over 150 years, you could even pay your taxes with it so what happened?

 During Hoover’s presidency, Andrew Mellon became Hoover’s Secretary of the Treasury and Dupont’s primary investor. He appointed his future nephew-in-law, Harry J. Anslinger, to head the Federal Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.Secret meetings were held by these financial tycoons. Hemp was declared dangerous and a threat to their billion dollar enterprises. For their dynasties to remain intact, hemp had to go. This then led these men to take an obscure Mexican slang word: ‘marihuana’ and push it into the consciousness of America. The reason why they changed the name was because everyone knew of hemp and how amazing it was for the world. They would never be able to get away with banning hemp, so they used a name they knew no one would care about. Thank you Yellow Journalism.. 

It's sad to see that as a species we can fall to greed & neglect what's best for our planet & fellow people all for extra profits. Like our Federal Reserve.. all owned private bankers ensuring they get their percentage. 

Which is a reason I'm so passionate about Cryptocurrency & the blockchain as a whole. Look at steemit for example.. we the people can have the power back. 

We are at a unique point in time.. We have the opportunity to make a change for the better.. a chance to right the wrongs of the past. Failure is intuitive, if we can note our past failures, we can get it right this time.

As a kid I remember always wanting to travel the world, seeing everything imaginable while meeting all kinds of new people... Now that I've been able to start that journey I can easily say I'm blessed beyond measure..Luckily, I've been fortunate to learn that there's always going to be obstacles to overcome & mistakes to be made. It's with God's grace we are granted an immeasurable ability to overcome adversity of any type.Failure is instructive. The person who really thinks learns much more from his failures as from his successes.

Don't Wait For Opportunity, Create It. 


Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks! Glad to be here.

Cody,

Welcome to SteemIt!!

You are now part of a special community of people forging a cutting-edge social media platform on the STEEM blockchain.

I am @etcmike and have been part of this community since August 2016. If you have any questions about SteemIt, please feel free to ask me and I will do my best to answer your questions.

I enjoy helping to promote the SteemIt community engagement on SteemIt by upvoting those who comment on my posts. I published my guide for up voting that I follow several months ago (please do not up vote it since it is past its payout period), you may find it useful.
Upvoting For the Mutual Benefit of Patrons, Commentors, and Others While Promoting More Engagement

Here are a few tools that will likely help you on SteemIt:

https://steemd.com/@gethemped -- This tools monitors your blockchain activity and helps you keep an eye on your voting power

https://www.steemnow.com/ -- This tool gives you a different view of you blockchain activity as well as monitors rewards on you posts

SteemIt is what you make of it! I urge you to be persistent and build your following, then before long you find your success!

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56