Hello Steemit! I like to introduce to you..... Gert!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

My name is Gert, I am 28 years old and I live in Amsterdam. My name is difficult to pronounce for the native English speaker but it is not ‘Kurt’, as many travelers tried to say my name in a correct way. It is pronounced with a hard G, like Gouda Cheese, that you may know as a cheese from the Netherlands. But then again, most people outside the Netherlands say it like Kouda, like Kurt, so this explanation about pronunciation makes no sense at all but it gives a lead to a subject that still is very important for me… traveling.

As a youngster I started traveling by myself when I was 21. The reason, as I do know now, was a kind of escape from my life in the Netherlands and from myself. This first journey brought me to Russia, Tibet, China and Nepal. This trip was like a mirror that reflected my deepest issues and learned me a lot about myself. When I came back I started my study History at the University of Amsterdam and after graduation I left again for almost two years, exploring Latin America.

Alright, what’s the point of this story, you might wonder. Well, during these travels I learned a lot about myself and about life. Far away from all obligations I saw the possibility to reflect on myself, on who I was and what was import for me. I realized that the most valuable thing for me is the sharing of knowledge and I followed my heart becoming a history teacher in the secondary school after I got back in the Netherlands. This sharing of knowledge is important because people are searching for information their whole life. By sharing knowledge you can help other people in their search for the information that they are looking for. That is why I am on Steemit. I have written down some of my thoughts about life, about my search for inner peace and my experiences with cleaning up the mess from the past, and Steemit is an amazing platform for sharing. Also I am into history and to criticize society so I just hope that there are some people that will appreciate my writings.

So please stay tuned as I am busy translating my first article called: The importance of balance!

With love

Gert

Sort:  

Welcome to SteemIt Gert, Here is wishing you much success here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69