Namaste From India! I'm Firepower's Mother and He Introduced Me to Steemit!

Hello Steemians!

My name is Geetha Rao and Namaste from Mangalore, India! I’m @firepower’s mother or mother power as he jokingly calls me sometimes. I have been on Steemit for a couple of weeks and using @good-karma’s esteem app to use it. I finally got around to writing my introduction and had some help from my son in putting it on Steemit.

I was born as the eldest daughter to a middle class family, and I had many responsibilities at a very young age. My parents always expected to see my name, in the first rank in my report cards, and I never disappointed them. In my class X, I was the first in our school with a winner of Merritt scholarship and it was my dream was to do my PG in mathematics and to go for a teaching job.

But as I was the eldest daughter in a joint family, and we had my grandparents living with us. At the time my dad was the only earning member in our family, and I had to apply for a job when I was in the final year of graduation. Even as I studied science and maths in my college securing more than 90% marks, I entered the banking industry to help my parents and worked in one of the national banks in India.


With my husband and @firepower's step-dad

When my in-laws were hospitalized, because of their old age and health problems, my presence was much needed at home and hospital, and I had to take a voluntary retirement from my bank job earlier than I would have anticipated.

15 years later I am continuing to receive my pension, have pretty good savings, owning a beautiful home with a small garden and life is secure. I have a car and I love driving like my son who likes traveling to the corners of our country. Being the daughter of a well known Artist, I too have done my grade exams in painting. I love painting landscapes, birds, and oil portraits.

These are few of my art works. In addition to this I love tailoring... I studied tailoring in my school days, and was earning a pretty good income, by stitching uniforms, frocks and skirts to my friends and was supporting my family financially and this also helped me with funds for school and college.

Now as I live a retired life, tailoring is my favorite hobby and I have never paid a single penny to any tailor for my clothes. About my personal life.... I got married to a person of my choice, he too was a banker. We lost him 3 years ago.


With my parents

My current husband, and @firepower's step dad is a very good loving soul. He is a great portrait artist in our region, who has so far painted more than 22000 portraits in a career spanning 50 years in addition to commercial art in the 80s. In fact he is my inspiration, my teacher, who taught me how to paint a portrait.

These are two of the portraits that I've made.


A portrait of Bollywood Actress Deepika Padukone


My guruji

I also like writing since my school days. I've published a book about my father and his artwork 2 years ago and gifted it to him, on Father's day in 2015.

This is the book, it is in dual language; Kannada and English. It took me almost a year to finish it. Photo of the book In addition to this, I've interest and have studied a little bit of Bharatanatyam, Carnatic music, Astrology, Feng Sui (we call it Vaastu in India) and other things.

I love visiting temples and like vegetarian food. But, I can cook South Indian varieties of fish and chicken too. When I am alone at home, I sometimes love listening to Punjabi music as it puts me in a good mood. I also love pets, especially cats, dogs and cows.

So this is me.... @geetharao on steemit now. Will share more things about me in my blogs, on this amazing platform. Hoping to get your much support, as my son @firepower received from everyone here.... Much love to you all!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit mom! So thrilled to see your post here! Woohoo! :D

Hi... Thank you so much for bringing me to this platform my son dear....

So great that you've brought her to the platform, Meghan!
What a lovely introduction and beautiful family. Upvoted and following :)

@surfermarly! I'm so glad that she's here and learning how to use this place! :)

I love the way you're introducing family to the platform :)

The success of steemit will come down to the quality of the community, so it's great that you're doing this :)

I hope she gets an amazing welcome! (Seems like she is already ;) )

Your dad should be next ;)

^What he said!

I'd love that but he prefers not to be on any social media platform for now. :)

Keep on persuaiting him. I think, trough his life experience, that he has also some interesting things to share. I still try to get my parents on steemit, as they've joined FB a couple of years ago.

very nice family u have bro......

Haha this is so cool. #Envy

A Strong women looks a challenge in the eye and gives it a wink
Cheer for world cup final for Team INDIA @aaravm and upvote post

🌺
Totally overlooked this
Welcoming your Beautiful Mama here, even though a bit late

@firepower
Join me with this link. So I can ask something from you.

https://chat.whatsapp.com/1AQFJoqaYk22R7OytDthwj

Nice to meet you @Geetharao ! Welcome to the steemit community ! Take care, @digital-gypsy

Hi, @geetharao! Finally, your long awaited intro post! I am super excited to welcome you to Steemit.

It was great reading about your life and getting to know you a little bit better. I am truly impressed by your paintings, also I love Deepika :)

I am looking forward to visit you and @firepower one day so I can enjoy some homemade Indian food as well as bouncing on some Punjabi music.

Cheers, @geetharao. I am looking forward to reading more of you!

Hi... Dear @sjennon.... Yes finally my post...
Deepika is my favorite, and also a distant relative to me. I like her. Yes come to India, come home to eat the Mangalorian food...

Ooh, that's cool! I think Parineeti Chopra and Deepika are my favourites :)

I am already excited for the food, haha! If I end up saving enough, I wouldn't hesitate!

We are looking forward to you and @things visiting us here! :)

It'll take some time, but one day we shall.

Welcome to steemit :D

Welcome to Steemit!

Can I tell you one thing? You have an amazing son. I met him in Amsterdam and we became good friends. Be proud of him :)

Hi yes Sir... I've heard a lot about you, and have seen your pics too through him. He is my only son. Am proud of him.
Thank you so much... Am one of your followers on this beautiful platform, since a couple of weeks now..

Thanks for welcoming my mom! :)

Welcome to Steemit!

Firepower is one of our most awesome members!

Looking forward to your posts and hope you share more of your artwork!

Yes, sure... Th

@acidyo Thanks for the welcome bro! :)

Wow!! It's so nice to see here! @firepower you did it! :D
Very excited to see what you will be sharing with us here! And your work and journey is amazing :)

Hi... @aishwarya... Yes I am also very much excited to join this platform....

Welcome to Steemit Mrs @geetharao. So glad to see you here. Your son @firepower is an inspiration :) I know you are proud. You are a brilliant artist. I hope you post more about your work :)

Hi... Thanks.. Yes am really proud of my son. And about my art... It's nothing in front of my dad's or my husband's Art-Works... I am just a learner....

It is still good :)

So happy to see you here on Steemit aunty and this is a great introduction post :)

Hi... Thank you so much

Woohoo!!!

It's super cool and awesome to see our very own Mr. @firepower 's own mom on Steemit. What's more cool than that.

I am sure you are going to have a super awesome fun time in here.

Glad to see you on board.
Cheers!!

Hi... Thank you and Super Cheers!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09