Why even bother reading this?...

    Hello Martians, wait no Steemtians. It is my second post but I haven't introduced myself yet, so why not? 

  I'm 20 years old, and I'm proud to say that I'm the first person in my family who said " Fuck College, I'm not going". My family is not happy about my decision but I am. I took my College saving money and started traveling with one question in mind "what I really want to do with my life?" 

   I always knew or thought what I ought to do, but never what I really want. I started reading books from Plato, Aristotle, Nietzsche, Hegel etc. They did not help me; they only made me question more. Question more about my beliefs and values. One of the book that made big impact on me was 48 Laws of Power By Robert Greene; briefly the book is about obtaining power. But Do I really want power?  Is that Who I am. So new question arises Who am I? 

  My GPA was well above 3.5 up until my Junior year of high school. I had everything planned, college my major of study (it was civil engineering). I choose it because it had highest average salary, not because I want. Then I came into realization that I'm perfectly programmed  a pet ( i do not know if that is the right word to use). Because certainly there has to be more in life than School->College>Work>Death right?

  Am I just big pu**y wait, why am i censoring myself I AM ON  STEEMIT. Continuing on Am I just big pussy or too careful about committing myself. On my way to New York, on the plane I realized that maybe life is about struggle, struggle to find purpose or meaning. 

  Let me ask you this. Think of a tree, not just look at it or just look at tree if it is around you. It grows and it dies. It is way it is. A tree only does what it can. It takes what life gives. There is no true answer to this age old question, but I think mine is the experience of the struggle of finding the answer. 


   - Ah,  I see you read this far, hope I did not bore you to death. Currently I am in Mongolia last month I was in China, next month I will be in Russia. So why don't you follow me if you want some more stories Huh?


Sort:  

Hey, I can relate to this a lot. I'm 20 and I dropped out last year. I come from family of teachers and professors, so that was weird, but my parents and most of my grandparents are dead so they can't really say shit. I love the free life, and I'd love to travel like you, I just need to learn languages and get money first. I read a lot, and I think you might find something consoling in Hesse, particularly Siddhartha, or a book like the Tao Te Ching. Western philosophy isn't there for comfort, but to challenge and to provoke further uncertainty, at least in my opinion, so it makes sense that it didn't provide you with what you were looking for. I think Eastern philosophy and poetry might. Maybe look at the School of Life's videos on Matsuo Basho and Wabi-sabi?

I'm going to follow you because I'm interested in what you're doing and I'd love to see pictures of your travels, particularly non touristy sections of the cities you visit. Now, I don't want to self promote, but I guess I will. This isn't about that though, I swear. I actually want to see what you think about this video my friend and I put together, because it's my attempt at sort of taking a stab at the existential anxiety of modern life and figuring out how to build a system or mindset that helps one live comfortably. Here's the link:

An interesting Image you are going for. If you want my opinion here it is my honest opinion: I agree.

Haha. Interesting side of your view. I work my life through college (as per you mention) and I never regretted because it is not about the education, it was the journey and experience that allowed me to experience new things. I have found my purpose in my journey, and without boring you with mine I hope you will find what you need for an answer; and you'll never know, you already had it you just didn't realise it yet. All the best, and travel safe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55758.52
ETH 2348.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31