Garage Bill from Garage Rock Radio, saying Hello to Steemit!steemCreated with Sketch.

What is Garage Rock?

Garage Rock is a kind of music that came from bands all across the world who heard The Beatles and other guitar based bands, and fell in love with the sound, so they practiced in their garage and made their own low budget songs with a similar energy and vibe.

Most Garage Rock songs are from 1966. The bands usually won local Battle Of The Bands contests and got a one-time record deal to make an original 45 RPM record. Most Garage Rock songs were not national hits, but were popular in their area.

In the 70's, collectors started finding and enjoying this kind of music. Compilations like Nuggets and many others have been released over the years.

If you like The Beach Boys, The Beatles, The Doors, The Monkees, The Kinks, The Jefferson Airplane and similar bands, you may like Garage Rock. Garage bands usually had a lead guitar, rhythm guitar, bass and drums, often with an organ as well. Most are up beat and you can dance to them. Some are psychedelic and some are considered fore-runners of Punk Rock.

Who Am I?

I have been a fan of Garage Rock since the first compilation Nuggets was released in the 70s. Some years ago, I did a podcast series. Each had 4 Garage Rock songs. I did over 10 podcasts and they were very popular, with a total of well over a million downloads. Interestingly, the number one country with the most downloads was China.

Here is a song by Lyn Price, one of the small number of Garage Rock artists I worked with over the years. This was my theme song on my later podcasts.

Here is a copy of my first podcast, which someone uploaded to YouTube a year ago. I think it was made in 2005.

Songs Played

  1. Scream Loud - Quests
  2. I Want You - Tony and Terri
  3. Some Day - Resumes
  4. Painted Air - Remaining Few

What is going to be on this blog?

I will attempt to drop a Garage Rock song here, daily. I'll have something to say about each song. It won't just be a video; I'll give some commentary to add value.

If you find that you like this kind of music, then feel free to Follow.

Sort:  

Hi, garagebill! I wish you a very happy journey here in this awesome community :) All the Best

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thanks for the nice welcome. Steemit IS awesome! I have been here a while but just decided to post now. Thanks for the links and have a nice day!

Welcome to Steem, @garagebill!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2565 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus on Fundition.

Steem Plus is great. I have seen it before. Good work and thanks for the welcome!

Love garage rock. So fun.

I agree! Thanks for commenting. :)

This genre is awesome , definitely feels like it always gets overlooked when looking back at music's history. Also your commentary from the podcast reminds me of the DJ K-Billy from Reservoir Dogs which is great.

Steven Wright played Billy - he was quite a funny comedian with a very dry delivery!

I'm glad you like the Garage Rock genre. There was a campaign to get a Garage Rock section in Hall of Fame in Cleveland some years ago but I don't think it every happened. At least we have YouTube, which has tons of music on there, so new generations can still enjoy it. Thanks for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48