Hello World!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello, Steemit!
I got into cryptocurrencies a number of years ago. I mined a lot of dogecoin and a few others and generally enjoyed the community. I got busy with school and life and sort of lost interest.

Fast forward to now... I was doing some spring cleaning on my computer and found my old wallets and decided to check out what my coins were worth, which lead me down a rabbit hole of cryptocurrency news, etc. So I've been reading up on the different cryptocurrencies on the market and came across Steem coin and saw that it has it's own social network based on it, which brings me here.

I have only a general idea of what all of this is about, but I find it very cool and innovative. I'm not a huge social media user, but I love learning about new technologies and this just sounds super interesting. So I am not sure whether I will stick around, but I want to try this out and see what's what.

A bit about me...

I am a web developer from Canada, and not a very good one I might add, as I only graduated from college recently. I am a lover of technology and an avid learner. I've recently been getting into Raspberry Pi's and building circuits to control with code. I'm not very skilled but just love to learn such things.

Anyways, I'm not sure if this is the appropriate type of content, but I am just testing the waters and seeing what this is all about. We will see how it goes!

Sort:  

Welcome gambit :-) follow me and I will follow you ;-)

Thanks! Followed.

Nice to meet you, welcome to the community. Consider yourself followed good sir. @tokar854

Thanks you! Followed back :)

Welcome to Steemit @gambit. I wish I could share the same story you had about mining dogecoin. I downloaded a wallet when bitcoin first came out and liked the idea, but didn't do the early easy mining. I'll have to see if I can find the wallet, wouldn't that be exciting to find 100 BTC in it. Of course I'd have to find the password to the wallet and I have no idea where that could be. I also got a couple Pi's around and an arduino, but never got around to doing much with them. To many interests, not enough time. I hope you stay around. If you have any questions please feel free to ask, just remember I'm a minnow as well. Upvoted and following.
@sighmanjestah
SDG

Thanks, and followed back. Ya, that would be great if you could recover your wallet. I guy I work with was telling me how he bought some Bitcoin when it was only worth a dollar or so and sold it when it was worth over $100, and now he's kicking himself. He still made good money, but it could have been so much more had he waited longer.

Yep, I told my brother in law who is way more computer programming savvy the I am to get some when they first came out. I didn't and he didn't , but he was saying just the other day that even if we had bought some we would have probably cashed out when it hit highs early on. Oh well, I'll just Steem on.

Welcome to Steemit @gambit 😊
So perfect timing finding your old wallets again - how much are your coins worth now? Mint surprise I'm sure.

Have upvoted and followed ya. Look forward to your posts mate.

Thanks! I initially bought about $30 dollars worth of Dogecoin and mined a little Digibyte, and when I checked it was all worth around $1,000 USD. A nice chunk of change, but now I don't know if I want to cash out or hold out. I leaning towards holding and maybe exchanging for some other crypto currencies. My initial investment wasn't a whole lot so even if it goes to zero it's not a whole lot.

Welcome to Steemit!

Congratulations @gambit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Welcome to the platform. You found your self in a good rabbit hole if it lead here :) this is a great place, and very useful for keeping up on the latest crypto news in addition to a variety of other topics.

Nice to have you on board! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Congratulations @gambit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90