Hello Steemit Community!

I'm Gabe!

20180427185217_IMG_2154.JPG

I'm a freelance writer and hopeful sci-fi author. I am in the middle of my first full-length novel, which is an exciting and tedious process. While I get other projects as I can find them, I mainly write biology articles for a biology dictionary website. Check it out if you're interested! There is a lot of great information from me and other authors:

https://biologydictionary.net/

I have a background in Zoology, and graduated with a Master's Degree in Professional Natural Sciences from Colorado State. The degree focused on the interface of biology and business, and was an eye opening experience.

I wrote my thesis on the conservation impact of zoos and aquariums. It was a subject I was deeply passionate about, and ultimately informed my decision to become a writer instead of a zoo keeper. For anyone interested in possible strategies for increasing the conservation effects of zoos and aquariums, my thesis can be found here:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1jJbwZC6KRvxFdKzhIWmeXFJUCtnItVB4

Currently, I live in a small cabin next to the Poudre river in Colorado. The river is beautiful year-round, and I am currently renovating the cabin to make it "smart". I love the idea of living fully off the electrical grid, but still being able to communicate and make a living freelancing. I plan on making posts about my cabin and DIY remodeling in general, as well as a variety of other topics. I take a lot of pictures, which you can follow on Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/poudrecanyonalmanac/

While my freelance writing is mostly restricted to Biology, I am interested in a variety of subjects, from physics to politics, which I normally don't get to write about. I'm an avid scuba diver, and also am extremely interested in the business applications of blockchain. I plan on using Steemit as a place to test and air these subject, and to get feedback from real people. People who care about the content and are interested in a conversation. I hope you find my posts interesting and engaging.

I was drawn to the Steemit community because of the depth and quality of the posts that I saw. I love that the platform rewards intelligent, useful, and funny posts. I plan on making many.

Thanks for reading!

--Gabe

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit World!

Hey Gabe :)
If you write about biology, you definitely should check out the science community @steemstem!
Resteeming you for some publicity!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks! I appreciate it. I'll definitely check it out.

Welcome to Steem Community @gabebuckley! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

welcome to steemit community @gabebuckley

Hopefully you can share good contain for every steemit user.

This comment has received a 0.31 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @dark-bd.

@gabebuckley, A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

I'm from Nigeria and I've made a lot of friends in Steemit, and I'm glad to meet you too.

Please never give out your password to anyone or through any link. Any request for your password might be to steal from you so be careful. Treat it like your bank code.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to make more money in steemit and in life.

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Welcome to the platform @gabebuckley..have fun and enjoy ur stay.:)

Very well written article! You have a talent, develop it. I follow you, I'm always glad to make new acquaintances, I hope you will follow me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46