Hello Steemit - my first post!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

avatar.png
Hello Steemians, this is my first post in this community. Kind of drowning in all content here on this platform, how is one supposed to stand out from the crowd? (let alone find all that interesting content oneself want to read?) Haha. I guess it'll become clear as time goes by..

So why am I here? Well, I have wanted a place to collect and express my thoughts and ideas (and they are many!) without necessarily spam people on Facebook who are only there to look at cat videos anyway. Also it's not the best place for productive thought and discussion, usually just trolls and narrow-mindedness floating around. I want to talk blockchain, philosophy, politics - sometimes all three at once!

A bit about me : I'm a cosmopolitan, procrastinator and champion of fairness, openness and respect. I first heard about bitcoin back in 2011, when you still could mine your own coins at home if you just bought a few decent PCs, and I have been fascinated by the project ever since. Recent developments has left me worried though - I feel the original purpose of Satoshi with creating an alternative financial universe where big banks and governments has no role or influence is starting to erode. Since I am not a coder/developer but a social science alum my perspective on blockchain is mainly philosophical, which I think is lacking in the current discourse. I want this thing to truly revolutionize the world. I believe it can! Or could have... Maybe both Satoshi and myself have been too naive.

I don't know if that train has already passed, but give me a shout/follow if you are likeminded. Or disagree. I don't claim to know everything, I foresee a lot of my posts being exploratory and not always coherent hehe, so do let me know when my argument is flawed. Would love to get a good discussion going. And let me know if you have similar content so I can follow you!

Sort:  

Welcome!!!!! Imho, Satoshi is the govt.

Thanks @rawdawg! I am aware of that theory yes, and it's pretty intriguing I have to say. At the very least, it must be a group of people, who have been highly trained in encryption. I don't see how one single person randomly can come up with something like the blockchain..

Welcome to Steemit. I too am hoping that in the future, it will be easier to find the content that you want to read. You are right, there is a lot to wade through.
None the less.. steemit is awesome. Thanks for joining!
Steemboat.jpg

Haha, nice pic! @doctorcrypto

@fylgja I just joined today also! Thank you for your intro and hope to read more about your philosophy of blockchain. I just started researching into cryptocurrencies and all I have are questions about how all of this might or might not change the future of currency and transactions.

Welcome to steemit you too then @brianmadrigal, fellow newbie! Maybe I can answer some of those questions for you. Or just leave you with more questions haha. It's a vast topic for sure.

Welcome to steemit! The troll level here is pretty low; it's one of my favorite features of this incentive system.

Thanks @protegeaa! I got that feeling too, that's one of the reasons I signed up. So nice.

Congratulations @fylgja! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

you are a good writer..

Welcome! Interesting history and profile!

Thanks @DonC! I feel welcomed :)

Look who's here ^^ Fylgja, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56616.63
ETH 3026.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21