The Starting Point – GPS, my discovery of Steemit and Block Chain.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

The Starting Point – GPS, my discovery of Steemit and Block Chain.



The fact that you’re reading this #introduceyourself post on Steemit tells me that you must be quite tech-savvy and chances are that you also own one or more GPS-enabled devices. Have you ever thought about why you can’t leave the #GPS on your mobile ON all day long? Have you ever thought about why there aren’t many #GPS equipped watches in the market? Have you ever thought about why it’s so difficult to use GPS to track tiny objects like bees and birds? Some of you probably know the answer already – #GPS receivers are too power-hungry for small electronics using only small batteries. If your work, your research or your hobby demands an ultra low-power GPS #ultralowpowergps solution, you’re definitely at the right place.

Before I say too much about #GPS, I would like to let you know how I got involved with Steemit. It all began when I started researching on how #blockchain, #cryptocurrency, #mining and decentralized application #dapp work. I noticed that a lot of the people I follow on YouTube such as @louisthomas, @theawakenment, @Boxmining, @benperrin117 and @jerrybanfield have, for one reason or the other, created their own Steemit channels. What intrigued me the most was not only that Dan Larimer, @dantheman, singlehandedly created the $700B+ Steem Economy that attracted so many of these YouTube superstars, but also the fact that Steemit is powered entirely on a block chain. This made me realize that block chain technology is something that I can no longer ignore.

Let me #introducemyself, my name is Francis Yuen, I have been working in the #GPS industry for over 25 years. I have spoken at numerous industry forums and co-invented a patented technique to make #instantpositionforanythingthatmoves possible. I obtained my Bachelor and Master degrees in Microelectronics in the UK and an MBA in Canada. You can find me at http://www.linkedin.com/in/basebandtechnologies.

Prior to founding my own company, I was fortunate enough to have worked for two large #GPS companies in a variety of leadership positions as well as consulting in sales and marketing, and technology development areas. While these companies specialize in high precision and high accuracy #GPS solutions, my current focus is mainly on #ultralowpowergps solutions that can last for months or years using only coin cell batteries.


My research on block chain technology has led me to understand that it is now so mainstream, even Wall Street and World Governments can no longer stand in denial of its power and legitimacy. With my experience in #GPS, it is my hope to explore with you these two fundamental technologies in my “Block chain my GPS” #blockchainmygps blog. Here, we’ll be covering topics such as tips and tricks of #ultralowpowergps solutions, links to smart ideas and the latest news on the latest ideas. From time to time, we’ll be inviting guests to share their insights. Hopefully, we will share broader and wider perspectives through our posts over time. Our goal for this blog is to be a platform of information, communication and learning as well as being an inspiration for those who are interested in implementing #ultralowpowergps and #blockchain. While some #GPS and #blockchain concepts are not always easy to understand, I will endeavour to limit each blog to take a fifteen-minute read or less. Why? Because chances are that you don’t need to know every little detail and the math to understand the important things you need to know. If I can’t explain something in 15 minutes or less, then, I should probably go back to study the basics myself!

If there are topics or areas of interest that you would like discussed or if you’re interested in sharing your view with the world, you are most welcome and encouraged to let me know.

I look forward to sharing this journey with you. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @fy1000000! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you newsteemians!

Hello fy1000000! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Hi steemsociety! Thanks for the tips - I am so enjoying Steemit, I think this is the best blogging platform! BIG hands to the Steemit team and community!

Hi @fy1000000. Welcome to Steemit and good luck!!!

Thank you free.sdb.bot!

Greetings, fy1000000! I wish you make many new friends here in this awesome community :) May the force be with you ;)

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Hi cheneats, thanks for the kind words & the very useful links. May the force be also with you my friend! Cheers!

@fy1000000, A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

Please never give out your password to anyone or through any link. Any request for your password might be to steal from you so be careful.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, etc.

Thanks ibishalom! I will for sure. Cheers!

Welcome! It is so nice to have you here with us. Please let me know if you have any questions, and I will be glad to try to help out if I can. Good luck!

Will do & Thanks mepatriot! Cheers!

Hello interesting article! I follow you, and you follow me. Let's develop the power of Steemit together, so we can achieve more! Upvoted your post!

Yes, I am following you now! Cheers!

Hello! The company has great prospects and I want to become a friend to do more ;

Hi tatyanablog! Many thanks for your kind words! Please keep in touch and read my blogs. I want to publish a few blogs to explain how to turn #ultralowpowergps and #blockchain into #cryptocurrency. Please stay tuned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53