Is buying steem power a risk for a minnow/newbie?

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I am a 25-day minnow in steemit. I am still considered a newbie within the steemit community if you look at how long I have been here.

When I first started steemit, I was reluctant to buy steem power but I do see potential in the platform.

I bought a total of roughly 100 steem power with 3 purchases of a total investment of around US$200. This is really a secret mission as my wife does not want me to invest in any risk.

The steem power that I purchased worth around US$600 actually at the point of this post. Is it really worth it? One may say that I made a 3 times of profit and it is a great investment.

To be rationale, the fact is that I am not able to withdraw this steem power back to steem immediately actually. I would need to power down to convert back to steem while the market is still moving.

I am definitely not planning to power down soon as I am serious in building up my steemit account even though I am a small fly here where there are so many giants and whales.

I have been posting daily as well as making constructive comments to other posts. I was said by others of similar days here without high steem power to be a fast growing member.

I have a reputation rate of 47.8. I have 280 followers with 564 posts made at the point of this post. The reputation, followers and posts do not come without daily effort actually.

I believe in steemit even though I am a minnow and I want to build my account. It is really a great feeling that my 100% upvote is worth $0.05 even though not much comparing to the whale who can give an upvote of more than $100 easily.

Investment in steem power is really up to your discernment and how much you believe the growth of steem and steemit.

Do you see the potential and you want to take a risk by dumping your hard earned money?

Could it be that investment that will just settle your financial difficulty in the future where you can earn a dream passive income?

Do your own research and make your own decision.

Decide not to regret regardless of the result if you have decided to invest.

If you do not want to invest, just keep posting and aim to write a good one where you can hope that a whale will upvote causing a ‘boom in your post. With the profit, you can purchase your steem power for free.

Don't get influenced by anyone and be your own boss.

The present steem price is sitting at the rate of $6.33 at the point of this post makes it hard to get more steem power actually for small flies like us.

Nevertheless, we can never know whether with the unpredictable market that steem price will be doubled in a few months' time.

As the saying goes, never invest with money that you cannot afford to lose. Invest with your spare cash and don't feel the pinch.

One of my followers, who followed my post, made a decision to invest in steem power and he also made a gain when the price was still low.

I hope this post gives you some ponders that do not push you to any side but provides logical reasoning of how you want to develop steemit if you are a minnow like me.

Upvote and resteem if you find this post useful.

Disclaimer: I am sharing my thoughts in my investment in steemit. This is not a financial advice and I am not an expert. Do your own research and make decision wisely before rushing into anything.

Sort:  

Nice, hopefully a lot of newbies read this blog so they can learn from you.

Thank you so much for your encouragement and
upvote.

Good article. I've not yet worked out how to transfer money into Steem so that I can power up, although the frustration experienced with slow growth of my Steem power might convince me to work it out.

I've been here roughly the same time, and only in the past several days have I had the chance to really start posting and commenting regularly.

That said, I invested in Steemit up front, and will continue to do so in small amounts.

And, as a former stockbroker, the current price is not a deterrent, as my focus in long term. I will continue to invest small amounts on a regular basis, regardless of what the market price is doing, and through dollar cost averaging, which is the average cost across all of my trades combined, I should come out well in the long run.

I agree that only discretionary income should be invested in any cryptocurrency at this point. Do NOT bet your mortgage money. But small amounts, over time, will add up much more quickly than you may realize.

You are definitely a wise investor. Thanks for the upvote!

You're welcome! We minnows have to stick together. ;-)

Hi I found you here on steemfollower.com and you were one of my 5 upvotes today. I just joined it, but it seem to be a pretty cool way to connect. I see that you are interesting in teaching people about steemit, I think that is great. I will follow your thoughts.

Thank you very much. We can learn together.

absolutely agree with that concept!

Trying out to verify my post!

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fun2learn to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Thanks for the post! I created my steem account several weeks ago, but just started utilizing it this week. Congratulations on making a few dollars already! I hope you continue posting your journey. Drew

Thank you! I hope you have a great journey here! I have withdrawn my steem here so it is a genuine site!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65791.75
ETH 3465.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68