A belated introduction, and what it all means

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I made a little thingamajig to go on the bottom of my posts:

Pretty neat, right?

I'll probably keep tinkering with it, but I'm pleased that I was able to do even that much.

I haven't really shown a pic of myself on here before (other than the thumbnail) so, time to stop being a shy little bugger, this also serves the purpose of being like "haii everyone".

If you're wondering what it means to make a 'full-measure', all I can really do is refer to the great Mike Ehrmantraut:

Basically, there are times where doing something but not being complete or decisive is actually worse than if you had done nothing.

I took a half-measure in 2009 while I was disc golfing on an Oregon beach.

The sea was frigid that day, and after an errant toss my disc was kind of rocking back and forth on one of the waves. There was a brief moment in time where I needed to just decide, and I probably could have saved it.

Doing nothing at all would at least have kept me dry.

But I pussyfooted and stepped into the ocean without a sense of purpose or clear commitment, unsure if it was worth it to get the disc.

And so I got pointlessly wet and lost the disc anyways.

I think we're at our best when we spend our energy on isolated spurts of inspiration.

If you want to tell somebody you love them, you should make a complete expression when you're ready. If you step in halfway and try to navigate gingerly and aren't really clear or to the point, now there might be more confusion about how you feel than if you had said nothing.

Or you can take a cheesy example from history, like Rosa Parks not giving up her seat that day.

Paradoxically, it's the unbridled spurts that cause there to be balance. Without them we tip. And basically everything that's calm and steady, we owe to the moments that are everything but. We owe it to the full-measure.

Sort:  

Woah first of all that video gave me the chills......I really have to finish breaking bad omg

And 2nd is your name is absolutely sick! I never knew what it meant, but know I'm all dang i'm taking a half-measure right now by not studying haha. Got my whole mindset realigned!

I think thats a great point you brought up about only committing to something when you are ready to go all in. I definitely wish I prepared a little bit more before I attempted the whole I love you in my last relationship. I really vibe with this whole concept, like foreal haha Leaned that you might be a bad ass full-measure haha

Hahah that's awesome man!

And ya it can be murky sometimes cause like obv you do want balance in life so like you can't study 24/7, you have to go with what works .. but basically like, if you have the goal and intention, put in the right amount of work to make it happen, would be the "full-measure" move I think (but recognizing that taking breaks and stuff will just happen and is a part of the whole process)

I bet it's hard to pay so much attention to studying with everything always going on with cryptos anyways! And Steemit poppin etc

Ahh yeah I think the balance is definitely a necessity! I was misearble when all I did was study. I did great on my DAT (standardized test for D school) but was literally a zombie. I guess that was more of an extreme measure in that case haha.

As far as being able to study with all of this going on.....dam near impossible haha I find myself cramming everything now a days haha

Eyy great post man. Great introduction, and the thingamajig looks awesome

Thanks mr. johny!

I believe the proper term for your thingamajig would be a signature, haha. But, I dunno, thingamajig does sounds better...Anyways, thanks for sharing about yourself on here, man! I should really make an introduction post at some point, I just kinda started posting randomly and never got around to it.

Oh is that the term for it?? Hehe thanks for the heads-up

Ya I kind of just started posting randomly too.

In fairness this introduction is still mostly posting randomly. But I'm counting it.

Haha, no problem! That's what I would call it anyways, I can't think of another term that would suit something like that better.

It's still a good introduction post nonetheless, the whole point of these is getting to know users and I think you let us know a good amount about yourself and your thoughts on half measures/full measures. I definitely agree with your viewpoint as well, I feel that people should be more open to taking a risk and not let themselves fall flat because they're indecisive or unsure of themselves.

Keep up the good work, bud!

I completely agree with this post and the philosophy behind it! Too often people will falter, they will choose the safe option, the sure bet. This is good for keeping our anxiety levels low but terrible for personal development.

To all those out there who are about to take a risk for something they are passionate about. DO IT! I promise you will not look back in fear or anger but with a smile of self-mastery, for you may or may not conquer the challenge in front you of. But at least you weren't conquered by the challenge within you, your own fear.

Yup!! It might feel safe but it actually makes things more chaotic long-term.

If you do what feels right it might shake things up a little, but only way to have balance long-term.

👍

Well said.

Thanks friend! I've followed to show support and see where your steemit journey takes you. Have a great day.

You're reminding me of this:

Yoda-There-Is-No-Try1.png

Sad video. Powerful lesson. But, to be fair, we can't know the future. He could have killed a man for no good reason. A full-measure has no guarantee of being good or right, and neither does the half-measure. The world is not fair or just and it does not follow logic.

Well, I think the message.. at least the message I take away is that threatening him like that could have contributed to him killing her. It could have scarred him and put him in a messed up mindset, and like now he's worried about Mike and like "oh shit" when he starts to beat her, and he feels like he's in for it if she calls the cops, so he kills her.

That's my interpretation of it anyways, that taking the "half measure" was worse than doing one thing or the other (it would have been better to do nothing).

I feel like what truly makes something a "half-measure" is when it doesn't actually do what your intention is... Mike wants him to stop hurting her, but threatening him as he did... in practice it doesn't cause the outcome that he wants

(In reality for sure a cop should not be killing people like that, but in Breaking Bad land where they're always doing messed up sh#t, I think it's fine as a metaphor .. my disc in the ocean thing is less brutal :p )

More of my Pacific Northwesterners! Glad to see we're growing so quickly!

That was a long time ago! I come and go, Portland stays in my heart 💓 😜

Welcome to Steemit @full-measure!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70