Introducing myself, a crypto-crazy streetphotographer from Amsterdam.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello Steemit Community,

As a new member in a somewhat established community, I thought it would be nice to introduce myself.

I'm a 24-year old Economics and Law student from Amsterdam very much into crypto. When I was a lot younger my parents used to give me a disposable camera when we went on trips. Getting to know places while looking through a lens for me was way more interesting than without. I noticed more details in my surroundings and met people that I wouldn't have met when not carrying a camera.

Although having lived here in the Netherlands most of my life, I've recently spent a year abroad as a solo traveller chasing one of my early age dreams: photography. I thought it would be nice to introduce myself through a bit of what I created. Sorry for the ugly copyright in the corner, but as a photographer I have to protect my assets.

When I was 16 I went to Ghana to teach orphans at S.O.S. Children Villages in Accra how to play field hockey. It was the first time I brought a good camera with me abroad. The African Hockey Cup was in Ghana that summer it was held in Accra, we arranged for the kids to play a short game in front of the crowd. Problem was, they had never touched a hockey stick before... The kids were amazing! Still, 7 years later with some I still have contact!

Recently I went to India out of curiosity and for photographic reasons. I was absolutely amazed by the people and this is a great example. It was taken at the Jama Masjid Mosque in Delhi and these kids were following me around to get their picture taken. 'Boyz from the Mosque'. India taught me a lot about how lucky I am being born with good opportunities, a copy of this hangs in my bedroom to remind me sometimes.

This is Amsterdam on it's finest. taken during one of the craziest sunsets i've ever seen! This picture made it one Dutch national news broadcast. :)

I thought techies might like this one, crazy electrical situation of India. Sixty-five years after Independence, only nine states - Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Karnataka, Goa, Delhi, Haryana, Kerala, Punjab and Tamil Nadu - of 28 have been officially declared totally electrified. This is the result...let's hope cryptocurrencies are managed better there ;-).

Finally, the moon over Amsterdam my favourite object, to look at and to photograph.

Let's hope this message reaches the moon or Elon Musk, so either I can buy a new camera and provide the SteemitCommunity with more photos and stories or Elon will you send me to Mars, I'll take STEEM with me.

I got many stories and photo's for a next post... if you guys liked this ofcourse. Let me know through an upvote or a follow.

See ya! Happy trading!

Sort:  

welcome.gif

Welcome @friso!

Thanks, much appreciated! @kotturinn

Anytime! :)
Followed you!

Hi, welcome @friso some great photos there!

Thanks, followed you!

Welcome @friso , your photography art is beautiful. Say hello to Amster from me, been there on King's day and this years first of May. It's the most beautiful city in Europe with even more beautiful people. Enjoy your time here!

Hahaha sounds good, I will;). Dam can be pretty crazy right? Especially when the whole country gets drunk on the Kings birthday you might encounter some funky shit! Thanks for the compliments, very much appreciated hope you return one day, then try the gay-pride: that is some-crazy-ass-day.

Always nice to meet other Dutch people. You and I share the same hobby. One of your pictures was probably shot on the same day that I shot this one!
17310903_424083351260546_2565336549154930998_o.jpg

Welcome! Very nice and talented photos! :)

Nice shots and nice to have you here! Good luck in your journey

Thanks, compliments are much appreciated.

Yess nederlander erbij, Welcomee on steemit!! Enjoy 🤗

Welcome to steemit! Very nice shots i like the purple skies. Following you hoe you follow me too✌️

Hey man welcome to steem, I am also from the netherlands and I love to do some photography my self. Nice to see some more dutch people on here ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51