A bit about me

Hello Steemians,

I’m not really good at talking about myself, but I also did want to reach out via an introductory post.

So who am I?

Well, the obvious things that people see: a philosopher by training, human rights advocate by profession, and a bit of a nomad, having lived in six countries to date. But I was thinking, are any of those things really me?

Of course, in a sense, yes. They are all part of me.

But when I think of who I really am, I think, islander. This is where I grew up, a small island off the UK coast.

2014-07-22 18.40.48.jpeg

It’s from there that I get my love of rainstorms, my passion for music and words, my melancholy side, my dreams of windswept beaches, my roots.

Even now between its simple poles
It has the soul of all my souls.

--T.E. Brown from Epistola ad Dakyns

I’m a bit photo shy, so I am posting anonymously for now, but this is me!

2012-08-28 17.48.52.jpeg

Looking forward to getting to know you all!

Sort:  

Hello, FreeWheel, and welcome to Steemit.

I'm sure you'll find a place for you and your insights on this platform. In fact, quite a few Steemians remain relatively anonymous, and that's fine, as long as people can understand that you are "real," that your intentions are good, and that you upload quality posts. (As someone once said, "A Freewheel by any other name ...")

It does not matter if you call yourself FreeWheel or John Doe or Mary Doh! If you present the community with high-quality posts that contain significant content, you will (eventually) do well on Steemit.

It will take time and effort, but that alone makes Steemit a very inexpensive and reasonable opportunity.

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

p.s. Here's a photo I took on a rainy day, on a windswept beach on the island of Borneo . Hope you like it as much as I do.

Thank you so much for the kind welcome and the good advice. I love the photo - that pop of colour on a grey day is like a reminder to always look for the joy in life :)

Right. And it's very telling that, on that grey and gloomy day, under the overcast sky, I could snap this beautiful photo. There's wonder, joy, and beauty to be found everywhere.

Absolutely

Hi there @freewheel ... So you're like me too :D
I also don't like taking photographs. I like clicking shots of nature though :) Warm welcome from me :) Wish to read more of you...

Thanks @creatovert! Yeah I would much rather be behind the camera than in front of it! Will look out for more posts from you too. Really enjoyed your intro post :D

"I would much rather be behind the camera than in front of it!"
Lol that's totally me :D

welcome to steemit, nice

Happy steemit !!! cheers

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31