I travel around the world and record sounds that anybody can use for free!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit Community! I am super excited to be here at Steemit and share the world sounds with you!

My Name is Marcel and I travel around the world for over 2.5 years now and I found a way to make this journey more exciting for me and what is way more important. I can help other creators that working with sounds.
Untitled design (15).jpg

Let me explain from the beginning!

Almost 9 months ago we worked on a video production in Cambodia and we needed sounds. Let me tell you that I had nothing to do with sounds at all so I went online to see what we could use. I had no idea where to look and if I found something it was just not the same.
I remember checking my suitcase and I saw my little Zoom H1 recorder and thought why not just recording sounds by myself and use this?

Untitled design (16).jpg

I took the recorder and my little headphones and walked around Siem Reap, Cambodia and in this moment while I was recording the street noise ambient or the school class singing, I realized how amazing sound is if you really listen to it.
Like a new world just opened to me and I really enjoyed it and learned more about sounds and found out that there is really a need out there for people who work with sounds.

My next thought was how can I make these incredible sounds available to other creators and share it with the community?

The next step was that I created the website FreeToUseSounds and I bought better equipment and since then I upload frequently new sounds from all across the world what keeps me super busy what makes traveling even more enjoyable and knowing that I can help other creators out there makes me even happier.
Untitled design (12).jpg

After Cambodia we went to USA, Portugal, Germany back to the US, Brazil back to the US and we are right now in Vietnam flying and flying to Bali. After that maybe Japan or Costa Rica and I am super excited to record more sounds in all these places. Right now I have an available Sound Portfolio of 40 Gb with all kinds of different sounds from Airports, Streets, People, Foley and music.
Untitled design (13).jpg

Recording sounds is also a way of creating history and archiving the time we are living in right now what can help future filmmakers for example. And I am not just uploading sounds! I write about it and link photos or videos to it so that people get a better understanding where the sound is coming from and how the actual situation looks like.

If you are curious about who needs sounds. Here is a list of categories who using sounds for work.
-Filmmakers
-Musicmakers
-Sound Designers
-GameDevelopers
-Composers
-Sound Engineers
-Animators

Everybody in the Steemit Community who works with sound is warmly invited to use my sounds as they wish! I am at least 2 more years or who knows maybe even forever on the road to record sounds and if somebody has sound requests I am more than happy to help you Guys out.

That was my little instruction and now I am already pumped to record a new sound.
My Website for sounds that have already 40 GB of free sounds is
FreeToUSeSounds

All the best,
Marcel

Sort:  

Welcome! Sounds great ;) I saw you already tagged @dsound, so I guess you know it. Maybe @dtube could be of interest as well?
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my service for sharing promising newcomers!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Hi and so sorry for the late reply! I have must missed it and thank you so much for the shout out and reshare! That was really nice! Yes I already checked out both and its pretty amazing what you Guys have acomplished with steemit!

excited to meet you here on Steemit! @freetousesounds and excited to check out new sounds from you every day!! and excited to archive and use these sounds in my music and soundscapes!

Oh you should go check out my website then. I have already 40 GBs of sounds and I am more than happy if you can use them in your projects! We are now in Vietnam, flying next month to Bali and after that Costa Rica so believe me you will get a massive amount of high quality sounds! I also go buy better sound equipment so I can provide a much better quality.

awesome!! yah I've marked your website and will give it a gander when available! Thanks a bunch

Wow, that's great. I could have used it for my last film :) Now I know whom to ask in future :)

Hi! Sorry Steemit took a week to approve me :) Just let me know if you need anything!

Interesting idea. I look forward to seeing where it goes. Followed.

Thank you so much! You can already check out the page if you want and see what you can find. My website is between 10000 and 15000 page visitors a month what is pretty amazing so I am building up a lot of resources and really hope to create an awesome library. I still have to figure out what community here on Steemit can benefit from it Especially there is no sound community right now here in Steemit like on Reddit for example. So its a niche and I work on that :)

A BIG warm welcome to Steemit! I am sure you are going to absolutely enjoy the Steemit platform.👍 Please let me know if I can be of future help with Steemit. I truly hope Steemit exceeds all your expectations!👍

Hello David! Thank you so much for your nice comment and I have to find the right categories to meet other fellow sound enthusiasts. Maybe someday you can add more categories that are sound related but I am going to search for it :)

I think more categories is a fantastic idea. As Steemit builds I feel sure more categories will be added. Have a great weekend!

Have a fantastic weekend as well! Greetings from Vietnam..

Always welcome! And let me know if you need anything.

You are very welcome. I have just followed you on steemit, so we can earn Steem together. Have a weekend 👍

Hi David! I just came back from an amazing field recording in a lighthouse! Maybe you can explain me like I am five how it actually works :)

This is awesome my friend.
I don’t hear that a lot of times, but what you are doing is amazing. Sound catcher ^^

Thank you so much. yes, I do this since almost 10 months and I am so glad that I can share this with the Steemit Sound Community! if you ever need a sound just let me know!

Welcome! Im slowly starting to find my steemit ppl lol. I work for a production company!

followed

Hi! I guess you found me first! :) If I can help you with providing sounds just let me know! I am sitting on a lot non published sounds but many of them already on my Website. So just shoot me a message and I am happy to contribute sounds to you.

Upvoted & followed.

Awesome journey you're on. Creators definately do need sounds! And they need more people doing things like you. And sites providing a way to get those sounds. Glad you're doing both.

Thank you so much Especially the game industry needs an unlimited amount of sounds and I hope to get a VR microphone but its nearly impossible in Vietnam or Bali. Maybe I have luck in Singapore.

They're marketing "VR" microphones now? I'm pretty sure that has to be a gimmick. Though there are multi-element microphones, but what you want to use is dependent on what you are recording.

I'm assuming it's just a gimmick to sell omnidirectional mics with multiple elements. Probably mostly good for ambiance recordings. Would need a completely different mic if the sound you wanted was in front of you.

No Gimmick! :) Stuff gets real!
https://en-us.sennheiser.com/microphone-3d-audio-ambeo-vr-mic

I am thinking about this or just some really nice DPA Lavs for binaural. I already use the Soundman OKM Rock Studio but these DPAs are amazing!

Ahh...so it's just marketing in the name.

I would think you would have more control with multiple mics though, and still might need to carry several, for different use cases.

I would think they probably would have them in Singapore. Def Hong Kong, if you made a stop there.

I fly from Danang to Denpasar and I stop in Singapore. The stop is only 6 hours but I might have a contributor bring it to the airport. I am talking with friends from Norway who also might flying into Vietnam next week. So I really hope that works out. Then I also get a new recorder.

Welcome on Steemit!
Your intro prost looks very interesting and promising.
Wish you a great time on here. I think you will have it ;-)

Thank you so much and I will spread the steemit message out in the world :)

That's amazing Marcel. I'll check the site and can't wait to use these sounds in upcoming productions. Welcome to Steemit:) and thank you!

Hi Nathan! I just uploaded anew sound here on Steemit! Thank you so much for your support and if you ever have any sound requests! I am more than happy to help if I have access to! I am here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46