I'm SO glad I crashed this party!!!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)


A geodesic dome I made out of lashed bamboo

Hello Steemit! I discovered steemit about two weeks ago and I feel like I'm watching something pretty amazing unfold! Honestly, when I was first browsing the site, my thoughts were basically 'Hey, this is a great idea buuut.... it's mostly people making money posting articles about making money posting articles(many of those articles are well done and much appreciated though, of course. :), so I was a little skeptical about how sustainable that was in the long term even if it is backed by an awesome platform like steemit. However, just in the short time I've been here, I've watched the quantity of diverse content explode! It's been amazing to watch that happen and I'm sure it's only the beginning. My goal is to help diversify the content on steemit. I have diverse interests so hopefully I'll be successful. :)

Well anyway, this is an #introduceyourself so I guess I start talking about myself now? I'm really bad at this. Uh, I'm a twenty something year old guy currently starting a forest-based agricultural venture in central North Carolina. I have a degree in Sociology, I love traveling, playing music, cultivating edible and medicinal mushrooms and other forest products, and many many other things. I've lived in eastern Africa and southeast Asia, but I currently reside in the most exotic and tropical part of North Carolina: Chatham County. Ha.

Music is my number one passion and I love everything to do with it. My first goal as a steemian is to develop the music community. I posted a review of some of m favorite songs and I'll be doing that weekly. I'm trying to come up with a good tag for it, if you have any ideas, let me know!! Hopefully soon I'll start posting a weekly DJ mix. :) I also produce my own music which will now shamelessly promote...

Here is some of my acoustic work:
http://arenblake.bandcamp.com/

And here is my experimental electronic stuff:
http://freeflowbroadcastcorporation.bandcamp.com

Oh yeah! You can download it all for free, but if you like it please leave a donation. It enables me to continue making music.

I'm also super passionate about sustainable technology and alternative human settlement. I'm developing my farm on land that I'd like to see turn into a co-op of sorts where different people and groups can pool their resources to start sustainable business ventures. You can find out more here (yay shameless promotion!):

https://www.facebook.com/CarolinaForestGardens/


These are a few of my shiitake logs


This is an earthen wall I built, unfinished


And here is the finished product!

So yeah, I work on my farm and in the winter I travel around the world and do street performance. If I come to your country maybe you'll let me crash on your couch, lol!


I AM THE BANANA ANGEL OF DEATH!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55275.78
ETH 2457.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18