Splash! Splash! In The Pond! Hello Meet Me! My Introduction

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

image

image

Hello Steemians, I've just joined! And I formally wish to introduce my humble self.

I was told about Steemit by a friend and old classmate of mine @Nevies in the last quarter of 2017 and then decided to create my account on the 11th of January 2018. I have known the child for over five years now and we've talked about a lot of stuffs but trust me when I say Steemit is unarguably the best thing he's ever told me. 😁
image
My real name is Francis Okon Etim. I just discovered that "Francis" which happens to be my first name means "free". However, my other names "Okon" and "Etim" are derived from my native language which is Efik.
"Okon" means "night" but I have no idea what "Etim" means, it probably would have lost its meaning over the years as no one knows or maybe I have not been too interested to know. But its worthy of note that the Efik language has evolved and changed over the years just like the English Language that has evolved from the Anglo Saxon to what we have now. Either ways, the name "Etim" is one which have been passed on passed on in my family from generations to generations and is a name common to the Efik tribe.

I am a Nigerian from Cross River State precisely, and my hometown is Archibong in Bakassi Local Government Area. Funny enough, my local government area happens to be the most controversial and interesting part of my life. This is so because in 2007, after a bloody and legal tussle between the Nigerian and Cameroonian government which even attracted international concerns, some part of Bakassi(the riverine area) was handed over to Cameroon by the International Court of Justice.
Incidentally, the part given to Cameroon happens to be my hometown. So yeah, you can rightly say am a Cameroonian. And Cameroon's official language is French but its quite embarrassing that the only French word I know is "Bonjour".
I have to say am a bit uncertain I really would love to belong to. Well, its an uncertainty, I love to entertain and I have even gone as far as declaring myself a "half caste" much to the displeasure of my friends who I believe are just jealous of my dual identity. 😁🤣

Am currently an undergraduate attending the University of Calabar (UNICAL) a.k.a University of Calamity as dubbed by her students because of her 'brain bursting' problems or troubles. 😏
image
Am in the English and Literary Studies department and also in my third year of study or three hundred (300) level.
My hobbies are reading novels, singing( my voice is capable of giving you nightmares though), rapping, playing video games, playing and watching football.
Wait a sec, did I just call football a hobby!!!
Football to me is more than just a hobby, its a way of life. I consider football as one of the basic necessities in life, so its as important to me as food, clothing and shelter is. I do sometimes wonder how people survive without football though.
Just so you know, am a huge fan of Barcelona Football Club and a Lionel Messi fan too, the best club and footballer in the world.

image
source
So all you Real Madrid and Cristiano Ronaldo fans in the house, beware. Am also a big admirer of Manchester City Football Club and Pep Guardiola, a man I consider the best tactician in world football. So all you lovers and fans of Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester United, Arsenal and Jose Mourinho also beware. 😁

I consider Steemit to be an opportunity to showcase and enhance my creativity in writing, more so as I hope to pursue a professional career in the Mass Media.
So you all watch out for my posts which will be humors, entertainments, events, social, religious and political issues and football.

I sincerely am thrilled, honored and privileged to be part of the Steemit family and look forward to having the best of times with you all as well as interact, socialize and catch maximum fun with you all.

Thank you very much for reading through. Stay in touch.

image

Shout out to @nevies!
And shout-out to this beautiful project of his:
Here is the introduction to the project
and
Here is the first fruit of the project
Check it out, pls.

Sort:  

Welcome to the community.. up vote follow and grow

Thanks so much Wordsmith

welcome!follow me, good)

Thanks so much @solik

Thank you Solik

Hi I am Mousumi .Please Follow if you like my posts.
Please be connected with me on steemit

Hi Mousumi, I will.

Hello @franklev,

It's so nice to meet you here.

Truth I've been to your nation twice now on a project that I lead... it's called #IAmCatalyst ... you can check it out here http://www.iamcatalyst.live where we are called to Empower the Next Generation of Leaders (through Social Entrepreneurship).

Hope to see you in 2018... I will be coming with my team.

Blessings and remember to connect.

Mel @coachmelleow

Thank you very much, coachmelleow, I've followed you.

hello, welcome, I invite you to go through my blog and support me with some votes since I am starting in this beautiful community and I want to contribute to the community, I will also support you with votes, thanks, success

Hey ...welcome to the steemit ..hope u can do better in that community and will be able to add more value ...lets work together...

I'm @edosweet. I'm here to welcome you specially to this platform. I'm really glad you are here and hope to see you become a great steemian. Good luck to you! IMG_20180130_094825

Thank you very much edosweet.

Congratulations @franklev! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great intro post @franklev! Thanks for joining Steemit! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @nevies sent me in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!

Welcome, bro, officially! I got you, man. 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57716.25
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26