{Hello} It’s time to build up a head of Steem.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi. I’m Simon Whight. 

I’m pretty much a complete newbie to the world of all things Steemit and cryptocurrency in general, so I am currently going through the entire baptism of fire stage. What actually brought me here was the novel spin on content generation and how it started to paint a picture of an alternative world for those in the enthusiast scenes, those lost souls like me effectively writing on passion alone. While there are platforms like Patreon and concepts like Ko-Fi out there to help subsidise things, nothing seems to have encapsulated an end-to-end ecosystem vision quite like Steemit. 

Thus begins this Steem powered journey, kickstarted through an off the cuff email from my older brother and a natural sense of curiosity.

So what am I looking to bring to the community?

Well, let’s have a look at my history over the past few years. Quite by accident I found myself writing for a selection of online magazines - that are either now dead or significantly changed in ownership to no longer be recognisable as to what they were. Time spent at SHA Digital, Ibiza Voice and Data Transmission gave me a chance to discover both what my voice was, but also what I really wanted to be speaking about - tip: selecting releases for coverage has to go way beyond "I'd slap that in a DJ set.

Eventually I ended up at the outlet I write for now - Inverted Audio. It’s a great little home, well respected by readers and artists alike, and seems to have found its own niche in an exceptionally competitive world. 

From humble beginnings, Inverted Audio hosting the Campfire Headphase stage at Farr Festival this year - bringing together some of the finest names in the scene, such as Legar Legov, Huerco S, Sad City and Terekke.

While rewarding, it’s a challenging life - countless hours sifting through new music, more through in-depth analysis, liaising with artists and PR, plus the weighty write-ups - don't get me started on transcribing Skype interviews. Plus all of this happens outside of a regular 9-to-5, fuelled by passion alone and grateful whenever a rare vinyl drop happens to hit the mat. Because of all of this, some of my greatest internal sadness comes from all the content that slips by through time constraints or not quite meeting the fit of the website. This is where blogging comes in.

Throwing it back - the early days c.2001, peak progressive tribal/bad clothes era when I lived in a house that was seemingly designed with a "give me the Geocities look" mindset. TRAINSPOTTING - I know for a fact I'm playing Datar - B (Tarentella & Redankas NYSC Remix) and Rui Da Silva - Touch Me (Peace Division Remix) here.

I’ve been searching around for a platform to just exist on and output as I see fit, indulging in the personal and less in the editorial mindset. Don't worry, this isn’t a place to copypaste my regular output but to offer something new - although I may reference the odd article, purely through the desire to share good sounds. Think first impressions, discoveries, spotlights, retrospectives, Spotify playlists. I’ve never been one to simply regurgitate a press release so there is no reason not to carry on with that mentality here. Also, tThere is a vague hope that I can reboot my commute friendly 40 minute mix series to share with you all, culled from my promo stack. But not until I manage to replace my now destroyed MacBook that my toddler graciously stepped on. (I still love him)

HIM. The destroyer of laptops.

So hello everyone, once again. I’ll be going heads down creating now, but also poking around seeing what people are up to. I like to keep an eye on the gaming world, so you might see me pop up there, but also in the many threads that will help me get to grips with the mechanics of this place. Just keyboard mashing, post button and the up arrow for now, eh? I'll be tagging my stuff electronica as one of the five tags since I don't like to get too pedantic about genres, hopefully it'll find a little niche.

Special mention here to @qsounds, a curation account passionately managed by @edje - a welcoming first encounter for my first day.


Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @fourfourfun. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fourfourfun to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hello there , nice post . I will be pleased to see what you will post in the future . I upvoted and followed you :) Have a nice day/evening

Thanks for the hi and the vote! I shall press my button in return before embarking on my evening of domestic bliss (yay).

Hi and welcome to steemit. I hope that you like it here. Enjoy your time and have good luck!

I’m feeling all enthusiastic and I certainly don’t have a shortage of words. It’s going to be good!

Congratulations @fourfourfun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit. @fourfourfun
i hope your enjoy this community.
following you now. :D

Now officially on your first post: Welcome to Steemit! :)

Hope you have great fun here. Maybe you like to use the tag "electronic", it is also used for music, bit also for electronic products. But yeh, you may like to use your selected tag as well, since that may group your own work in a different way.

Some cool projects like creating music with multiple artists you can find at SMA at Discord (https://discord.gg/jHKFUwY), I'm also setting up a radio bot playing some of my own favourite sets you can listen to as background music :) The bot is however not completely stable yet, and it undergoes some upgrades, hence the radio stops playing frequently. In a week or two I hope to have it more stable though. Feel free to drop by and chat with @seveaux (the founder of SMA) and others you may find there.

Thanks! I’ll try electronic out too. May as well keep things standard!

Nothing is really standard. I created a tag same as my music account and used to use it for my music posts. I also had the idea for others to use it so post discovery would be easier for me. But after one time mentioning this in a post, never really expanded on it. Basically what I try to tell, use the tags like you want to do it. Manual curators generally look at the main tags; for music this is #music but other tags are out there as well.

Yeah, I'm putting out there in music, but then using the other tags to get granular. Definitely useful to have Electronic for discovery purposes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97