Hello Steemit!

I’m not very active on social media. Ironic, because I go on Instagram every day and check Facebook every week. But my posts are few and far between – I’ve always been more of an observer when it comes to the internet. This is my attempt to change that.

IMG_2865.JPG

That's me! My name is Tanya, I was born in India 23 years ago, but California has been my home for more than half my life. I adore all animals, but there is a special place in my heart for my sassy bearded dragon, Godzilla. I love food but I’m too lazy to cook, I love reading but don’t go through books like I used to. I wish I exercised more and learned how to properly play an instrument. I had some talent in art when I was younger, but didn’t pursue it so now my current ability is impressive for a 10 year old but average for a girl in her 20s.

IMG_2248 (3).JPG
She was a dreamer.

I want to post about photography, my favorite places in southern California, dragons, and maybe some scientific and philosophical theories that I would love to hear opinions about. I want to read and learn about cryptocurrency, nature, how to be a better person, and support people that I think are doing good in the world.

I’m obviously new to Steemit but it seems different from other social media sites. I’ve been ghosting around, deciding how to feel about this new world, and I’ve seen more creative do-ers and motivated individuals here than anywhere else online. Earlier, I wrote about a lot of things I wish I had done, or wish I would do more of, and looking around this community, I already feel changes coming. Facebook is for family, Instagram is for friends, so I’m excited to see if Steemit can be for me. You guys all seem pretty intelligent, so as the saying goes, “surround yourself with smart people who’ll argue with you”.

sky dragon.jpg
I mentioned I like dragons, right?

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @foreverland! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Such a very interesting young lady, of all the animals you love and so curious about dragons. =)
Welcome to steemit hope you're doing okay have a good one!

Thanks for the welcome! Dragons are underappreciated in my opinion, hope to spread the curiosity! :)

Loading...

Very cute girl with a very vibrant personality! I'm sure you'll do well here :)

Hi Tanya, welcome to SteemIt! I am popping by to show support to a fellow newbie with a little upvote! I am interested in the topics that you will be blogging about, so I have started to follow you.

Hope you have a fun journey on SteemIt! Cheers and Steem on!

Thanks Bryan! I'm checking out your blog now, too. When I was studying computer science, I looked into cyber security, you're in a really cool and lucrative field! Very interested to see more of your posts. Cheers!

Thanks! Cyber security is a hot industry now, but it is also very demanding. Hope I can still continue to cope with the pressure.

There's no time like the present to start reading, exercising, and doing art more! Since you're such a fan of dragons, can I safely assume you've got a good few fantasy novels on your shelves?

I wrote a little guide for new users:

Welcome to Steemit! It's got a steep learning curve, but it's worth it in the long run if you keep putting in the time! Just know that it will take quite a while before you start getting attention and followers. The secret to success? Keep posting high quality content regularly, and make sure to search out other people's posts, read them, and give relevant comments.

Tagging is extremely important. Always make sure to use all five possible tags, and to keep them relevant. You can always just tag something "blog" or "photography" or something else really general (so long as it's still relevant) to fill the quota if you need to- most of your tags should be established ones, though one or two less used ones are fine.

Posting more than four times a day can reduce your potential rewards, as well as turning off potential users. (I aim for one post per day most of the time.) Consistency is important, though, so you should try to post often.

Always make sure to attach a photo to your posts! You should also have a finished profile: Write a description, add a profile picture and a banner- neither needs to be of you, necessarily, but you should have something- and set a website.

There are a lot of really good resources out there for minnows (new users). You should check out the following groups and services, they offer a lot of valuable resources to new users:

@thesteemengine (Check this one out first- they're an extremely supportive group.)
@qurator (These guys offer an excellent liftime upvote to accounts that post consistent quality content.)
@originalworks (Whenever you write an original post, tag this account- they'll verify it's original and upvote you.)
@steembasicincome (Another lifetime upvote option.)
@steemstem (The biggest and best STEM curation group in the game. If you're interested in writing or reading about science, check these guys out!)
@geopolis (A fairly new science curation group, this one's dedicated to the study of the Earth.)

And, again, the biggest thing is just patience. Breakout successes are incredibly rare on Steemit- you've got to find your way there through perseverance and hard work. It takes time, but you'll eventually succeed if you put in the work.

Please feel free to repost this guide on the posts of other minnows you run into!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @foreverland to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

So if I'm a minnow, are you a helpful shark? Because these are great tips, thank you! Good to know about the tags, maybe dragons isn't as popular yet haha. And lucky guess with the fantasy books, I've definitely read my fair share! I'll look into the resources you provided, thanks again!

Hah, I'm still a minnow too- just a bigger one who's been around for a while. Dragons might not be a big tag, but fantasy definitely is!

Welcome to Steemit! I am sure you are going to absolutely enjoy the Steemit platform. Please let me know if I can be of future help with Steemit. I truly hope Steemit exceeds all your expectations!

Thanks David, I will!

You are very welcome. I have just followed you on steemit so we can earn steem together. Have a great Sunday👍

Hello. You look great. I wish good luck here!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you will enjoy this community:-)

Thank you for the welcome!

Congratulations @foreverland, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41