Science, Technology & Natural World Man

I am Keith, I am multidisciplinary with broad interests in science and technology, amongst other things. Here some more specific interests areas of mine and a little more about me:

Machine Intelligence

Gears brain image

A diverse interest area of mine that includes neural networks, deep learning, machine learning, neuroscience, cognitive science, hierarchical temporal memory, brains, data science and lots of other stuff like it. The area is progressing so rapidly it is difficult to keep up with developments, but it's all very exciting, I am forever studying it with the intention of developing a real world implementation of my own.

Natural World

I consider life, as in living organisms of the natural world, to be precious and I would rather see humans integrating with the natural world rather than the common practice of differentiating and turning the planet to concrete.

Loosely related to that, here is a photo I took looking up through the spring leaves of an oak tree, that I am using as my Steemit cover image:

Oak leaves in spring

Open Source

Tux the Linux mascot

I am and have been a member of various Linux User Groups, though it would be more apt to call them Open Source User Groups these days, and they have been a gateway to the whole of the open source community of both hardware and software. They have been a great boon for improving my computing skills and knowledge.

MOOCs

I discovered MOOCs, the Massive Online Open Courses, a while ago and found them to be a way of learning that suits me. I study as time and circumstances allow, mostly computing, machine learning, maths and statistics related courses from the MOOC providers Coursera, Udacity, Futurelearn and Lagunita, there may be others in the future.

Cryptocurrencies

BitsharesLogo

Cryptocurrencies are a recent interest of mine, having purchased my first cryptocoins in July 2017. I use the Bitshares decentralised exchange for investing and trading my coins, of course Steem is one of my investments. There is much to learn about cryptocurrencies, though the enabling technology is the blockchain opening up possibilities for many applications.

Coffee Shops

Me, coffee, cafe

I like to take a break by visiting a local cafe|coffee shop for a coffee beverage and I usually take some technical reading with me, here is a coffee I had earlier →

Actually my favourite coffee is the 'local coffee' you get in the coffee shops of Sarawak, though you have to specify "kosong" else you get sugar in it by default.

To conclude

So, what I post on my Steemit blog is likely to be varied and occasional, but I hope you will find the posts of interest or even useful !

Sort:  

Congratulations @forestacorn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi Keith! Welcome to Steemit! Based on your stated interests, you are going to love it here! This is crypto-heaven, and you will also see a great dea of art. Glad you are here!

Congratulations @forestacorn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit, Keith! You are so right about data science: the development is too fast it's hard to keep up. At any rate, have a happy Steemit experience!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94