Travellers Of Steemit Unite! New Discord Server For Travel Bloggers, Digital Nomads and Vagabonds!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I'm Jürgen, one of the guys behind For 91 Days, along with my partner Mike. We met way back in 1999, while both living in Boston. I was studying photography, and Mike had moved to Boston upon graduating from college in Ohio. After my visa expired, Mike made the life-changing decision to follow me back to Europe. While I pursued a living as a photographer, Mike started a couple of internet sites. We were both our own bosses, which gave us the freedom of movement.

travel-bloggers.jpg

Over the next ten years, we moved around a lot. We lived for five years in Berlin, a couple years in Ireland and then moved to Valencia, Spain. This urge to relocate seemed to be increasing in frequency, so it almost felt natural when we had the idea of "For 91 Days". We could travel the world, but always stay for in one location for about three months. We'd be able to explore great new countries, scratch our nomadic itch, and still live with a relative level of normalcy.

At this point, we've been producing content on our blog For 91 Days, for over seven years. It's been great, but we've been a little distressed about the rise of social media. Facebook and Instagram started out as a great way to reach new followers, but today they seem to be on a mission to wring every dollar out of us... charging us before showing our content to the users who have already chosen to follow us! So, in some ways, our discovery of Steemit was like waking up from the Matrix. There is another option after all.

Valencia Blog.jpg

As travelers, all of us have so many stories to tell and photos to share. We've made experiences which others can benefit from, and we all want to share. Steemit seems like the perfect platform for travelers. Perhaps here, we'll find recognition for our work, and even some extra income. It's a privilege to be able to combine work with the fun of travel, but it can also be a struggle, especially with platforms like Facebook which seem to be making plenty of profit, without ever sharing back to the people actually producing the content.

You Can Join Our Discord Server here

A huge thank you goes to @jpphotography, a talented photographer who has supported us on Steemit from the very beginning. When we had the idea for this channel, we hoped he would join up, and he's been instrumental in the structure and tone. Check out his work when you get a chance.

And a big thank you to @martinamartini to gave us inspiration and energy during some rough patches on the blockchain. Her energy and the right set of mind are unmatched.

That's all for now! We hope this Discord channel provides a place for travelers to meet and support each other, exchange ideas and share experiences.

Sort:  

#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

@spaminator It's an extension of our very first Intro wich wasn't very detailed, especially since we didn't know what to expect from Steemit. Also are there set rules on how to use #introducemyself ? Wish I would have read them .....

Hello! I've been searching for a travel community that supports travel bloggers. I was looking for a discord channel and found none. Glad I found you today! I will join the discord group when i get home tonight.

I am a newbie Steemian and travel blogger wannabe so I want to learn from pros like you guys :) I also dream to do what you guys are doing but I'm stuck in an office for now. Hopefully, Steemit changes that :)

Hope we gather more people so we can support each other. If I meet other travel lovers here. I will let them know of the discord channel :)

This is the purpose of the Discord Group ... we're looking forward to welcome you and to help. With Steemit it's absolutely possible!!! And yes, if we unite we can make our dreams come true.

Awesome! I hope to meet you soon (at the discord) :D

Great initiative guys, happy to be a member of that discord group :) and a huge thank you to @jpphotography for telling me about that and sharing all the secrets and cool things about Steemit he has found out :)

You are most welcome :) Very happy to have you in our Discord group!

Awesome! You guys rule! 🌠

Now you do ... in fact Steemit and the entire community rules.

Very pleased to meet you Jurgen and Mike, and thank you for taking the time to launch this community for us. My wife (Corrine) and I have been traveling together for 12 years now, although we tend to stay in places a little longer than 91 days....however it's a very interesting concept, maybe a plan for the future? Right now we have a couple of dogs who are keeping us 'anchored' in europe but we dream of returning to SE Asia with our daughter in the not too distant future. Keep on doing what you're doing my friends, it's good! Be happy, smile often :) (I'll be chatting etc whenever possible on discord)

1622016 (4).JPG

Hello y'all!!! I've already seen that you joined the server, so so happy to have you. Europe has so much to offer but I feel with you having the urge to go so Asia. We used to travel the first 2 years with our doggy

French Bulldog.jpg

She hated traveling ha ha.

Also saw that you're coming to Spain ... if you decide to visit Valencia please let us know!

Haha she does look like a girl with attitude! I think we may be sharing paella very soon my friend. Just realised I never mentioned our daughter Ricki,, she's 2 and very cute with attitude! :)

Hahah .. I figured ... I was wondering if you have a daughter or not. Haha.

Nice to meet you here Jürgen, Mike and other fellow travelers! Cool to know the background story behind @for91days, and I believe it’s also the voice of most travelers. Well done! 👍 I’m very happy to find this community, and big thanks to @jpphotography for introducing me to it! =)

We're so happy to have you and thank you so much for joining our Discord Server....

Hey guys, Im new to Steemit and looking for some rad people to follow, If you guys have any amazing profiles for travel photography, id love to follow them. also if youre ever in South Africa dont be afraid to get in touch

Well, there is us and @jpphotography and you can find tons of inspiration by taking a look at @photocontests to see what other photographers you like. Feel free to join our Discord Server, there we have some great information for beginners and tools and a great community.

Hey there! I just joined the grup chat on Discord about travelling! :) Thanks!

Yes .... so great to heave you!

Welcome home guys. I definitely aspire to see more of the world. Thanks for joining us and sharing your journey.

It really feels like we arrived home. Such an amazing platform and community.

I am still kicking myself in the butt for not being able to see you two in Boise, Idaho. Weather was not nice that week and that would of meant a foggy 23 mi bike ride home. Biking is my passion. I look forward to your next adventures. Be safe!

So happy you decided to join Steemit, I can see that there are many other bikers on this platform. Feel free to join our Discord Server too... there we can help you to get going with Steemit. It's very overwhelming at the beginning but we'r here to help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27