Helloooo Steeeemians!!! :)

Me.jpg

I've always loved football! I remember when I was a child I used to play on the big rug in my bedroom with chess pieces for football players and a marble for a football. At each end of the "pitch" I placed the two plastic covers of the chess set and used the lines drawn on the rug as borders. Rooks were always defenders because they were strong and could head the ball and tackle hard. Knights were full backs, bishops were used as wingers and strikers were usually pawns. I must have chosen pawns because they are quite quick and hard to catch with a fierce tackle. The king was always the goalkeeper. To complete the 11-player lineup I would use the remaining pieces (the queen and the pawns) or sometimes I would have more "players" from a 2nd chess set. Even for balls I had different types of marbles - the all white one was used as in old First division matches but the other marbles were used too, depending on the occasion.

I've spent hours upon hours this way, and used to commentate "in real time" as the matches would go on. But it didn't end there! As I was following the top flight in English football I would keep detailed track in notebooks of every result with the scorers and the minute they had scored in, every updated league table and upcoming fixtures, it was a real passion.
It always made me feel so alive just seeing all these numbers in my notebooks representing the ongoing real life drama and fierce competition. I still get excited just seeing a 1-0 scoreline because it represents so much - the struggle of each team to get the upper hand for 90 minutes, the loyal home crowd, the traveling vocal away support and eventually one of the sides succeeds in getting that single goal that decides the match, I find this so fascinating. Obviously 5-0 thrashings can be a lot of fun too (especially if you support the "right" side :)) but in a different sort of way.

5-0.jpg

As I became a teenager I had the flags of so many European clubs all over the walls of my bedroom courtesy of my older sister's boyfriend at the time who was really fond of me and treated me as his little brother, and he gave me his entire European club flag collection! I used to look at them with awe, absorbing the variety of different emblems and colours as I imagined the passion of the supporters of each team and their history and past achievements. And so I got to know teams that weren't well known, especially back then, teams like FC Kaiserslautern in Germany and Club Brugge in Belgium.

Emblem FC Kaiserslautern.png
Club Brugge 3.png

When I grew up to become an adult my passion has evolved into football betting, as I would come up with all kinds of weird theories and test them out for hours on end only to see most of them weren't working. But the disappointment passed soon after as I would be already on to the next theory, the next set of rules of a new system. I did eventually get to identify some profitable spots and one day just before heading to my evening shift at the supermarket I was working at back then, I had passed by a William Hill shop to fill a 9-game accumulator betting slip. I got all 9 games right and I was in heaven! I won around 1,000 pounds and it was so sweet to hand over the winning slip and get paid in cash :)

hill_2178054b.jpg

Nowadays, despite expanding to other interests I still hold football close to my heart. I follow mostly the Premier League but am always checking to see what teams in other leagues are doing as well. I appreciate the long-lasting success of Real Madrid and Barcelona in Spain, Juventus, Milan and Inter in Italy, and Bayern in Germany, but I think in terms of level of fierce competition, the Premier League is the best in the world!

Premier League logo.png

By the way I support Chelsea and have followed them since the 90s through the Ken Bates and the Roman Abramovich eras, but rest assured that it doesn't mean that I hate other teams. For instance, I have tremendous respect for the fans of Newcastle United as they had to endure so much yet have stuck with their team through thick and thin. I respect Arsenal's glory years under George Graham as brilliantly depicted in Fever Pitch, Liverpool's rich history and loyal fans who finally get to see some progress in the new era, and Manchester being a thriving vibrant city that also happens to have become a football empire.

Man United v Man City.jpg

Football is indeed the beautiful game and one of the best things about it is that it unites people from all over the world and indeed from all walks of life. You could be a rich investor or a doctor, a factory worker or a school teacher, a child or an adult - people care. Being a football fan is like being married. You do choose it at first but not all days are fun and harmonious, yet you stick with your choice and may well do so for the rest of your life. I'm writing this in the wee hours of the night and honestly can't wait to get started and post it in the afternoon. This blog will be about everything football-related: transfer rumours and dealings, league fixtures previews and post match articles and the world cup of course!
So without further ado, let's get the ball rolling!

"Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that." - Bill Shankly


Image credits:

William Hill betting slip: telegraph.co.uk
Premier League logo: premierleague.com
Man United v Man City graphic: Daily Post Nigeria
Club Brugge emblem: besthqwallpapers.com
5-0 scoreboard: Pinterest
FC Kaiserslautern emblem: kassiesa.net

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Hello @football-fan-100. Welcome to this wonderful community! You'll meet great and amazing people here... Write freely and keep steeming :)

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Welcome to Steemit!
This is a great community of content creators. Steemit has a bit of a learning curve. So try to have patience to understand the platform, how to format your posts, and optimize your payouts.


Here are a few good resources for new users:


Let me know if you have any questions as a new user on Steemit, I am happy to help! You can follow me at @ngans. I post a lot about neuroscience, psychology, health, and philosophy.

Thanks, I will definitely check out these links!

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem


Welcome to Steemit @football-fan-100!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

hey I like your post its cool, please follow back!Letter Gothic-01-01.png

Welcome, hardcore football lover! Great to have you here, friend! Keep on scoring! Followed ;)

Thank you for the welcome and the follow, wild-forest! :)

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 6k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from--> click link
https://discord.gg/dKsHwVz
Join the steemit school on discord channel today

I will check it out, thanks!

I mostly play basketball but soccer football is fun too.

It sure is! Thank you for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31