Say hello to this little friend!!!

Hello everyone!!
I’m new to steemit and I’m super excited to be a part of this innovative community!!! 😃

2222-01.jpeg

First of all, let me admit that this is my first blog post ever on any platform.
I’ve been looking around on the web for a starting point and that is when I discovered steemit and I feel my heart is in the right place. Here I would have fellow bloggers whom I can look up to for some inspiration when in need. I hope this will be a great platform for budding bloggers like me.
I live in San Francisco bay area, and I’m a passionate food lover.

20151110_211752_HDR-01.jpeg

WHERE I BEGAN

I am originally from Kerala ‘the god’s own country’, a state in southern India, which is blessed with its greenery, coconut trees, beaches, backwaters and of course, spicy delicious food.
It is indeed every food lover’s paradise.

Here are some photographs of my place that I took a few years ago. (Disclaimer: I’m not a photographer, I just owned a low budget point and shoot camera at the time.😜 )

DSCN2600 (2)-01.jpeg

IMG-20171012-WA0001-01.jpeg

You can see these roosters almost everywhere. I caught this one on my camera while it was wandering in my backyard.

DSCN2759.jpg

This is Kovalam beach - a great hit with foreign tourists when they visit Kerala.

DSCN2683.jpg

The light house at the Kovalam beach at a distance.

DSCN2789-01.jpeg

Traditional fisherman boats at the beach.

IMG_20150215_115839-01.jpeg

Elephants are not a rarity; they are a big part of Kerala’s culture and festivals. This one was brought in during a festival and was relaxing in my uncle’s yard.

IMG_20150503_072053aana-01.jpeg

This cutie was captured in a temple during another festival.😍

WHERE I AM NOW

20160917_124726_HDR.jpg

Now I’m living in the bay area with my husband who is a techie.
We are ardent food lovers and are truly global in our food choices. My husband is such a foodaholic that he spends most of his time searching for great cuisines to try.
Our love for good food knows no bounds and we love to experiment with different cuisines in our kitchen.

MY PASSION

20171011_153854.jpg

“Eating is a necessity, but cooking is an art.” Gesine lemcke

I love to cook and that’s my greatest passion. My favorite things to do at home are searching food recipes online, cooking and savoring it until my taste buds are satisfied.
In my posts I’ll be sharing some home cooked meal recipes using different aromatic spices that will tickle all your senses.
I don’t claim to be an expert; but don’t worry; I’ll be sharing recipes only that have been tried and tested in my kitchen.

20171011_105335.jpg

My essential spice mix

For all the adventurous food lovers out there, hope you will have great time reading through foodhavens; my culinary journey of flavors and aromas!! 🤞

Other than cooking, I enjoy listening to music, singing, crafting, DIY stuffs, reading blogs,watching movies, gardening and biking/cycling.

20160508_191726_HDR.jpg

Biking along the trail near my home.

20160818_181851_HDR.jpg

20161115_130621_HDR-01.jpeg

20160419_120739_HDR.jpg

These go right off of my terrace garden to my kitchen!!

20160512_162750_HDR-01.jpeg

20160513_142253_HDR-1-01.jpeg

20160511_154925_HDR-02.jpeg

All of these I tried during my pastime and none of them are my original ideas. I get the inspiration from the web and try to recreate them at home.

TIME TO WRAP THINGS UP

Thank u so much for reading my post!
Please do let me know your thoughts within the comment section. The feedback from you guys would really help me improve myself on this platform.
Hope you will enjoy my recipes and cooking escapades.

Cheers!!!
foodhaven

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit of you! Glad to have you on Steemit. Continue doing good post.
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Thank you for the wishes and also for taking a look at my introductory post. It provides great support for a newbie like me.

Welcome to steemit!
I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!
Also if there are any questions that you may have, you can reach me at http://steemit.chat . My username is the same over there, i.e., arthestically

Have fun and I am wishing you LOADS of success on here! <3

Regards
@arthestically

Thank you! It's great to see people like you coming out and supporting newbies like me.

I was in the same boat as you not too long ago!

Give this article a read by inquiringtimes. This should have some useful information for you on how to get started! :)
https://steemit.com/welcome/@inquiringtimes/333-welcome-to-steemit-333

Thank you for your support. I'll definitely read this article. :)

What a great introduction post! Thanks for sharing. Good luck to you and keep steeming! @extremeromance

Thank you! :)

Welcome to the community young lady. Plenty of bloggers make good money on here blogging about food, just look at @ramengirl , she is killing it here, there is no reason you can't do the same.
I'm a meat and potatoes guy so I probably won't get much out of your work but there are plenty of folks who will.
The key is participate and build yourself a following.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Thank you! My husband is also a meat guy, although he is not too keen on potatoes. :)
So I do think you will have something to look forward to here. Thank you for the pointers and suggestions, it really helps a newbie like me.

Congratulations @foodhaven! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @foodhaven! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Thank you for your suggestions. I really appreciate the time you took to help a newbie like me. It's these comments that help us keep improving. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts in the future.

Hi @foodhaven very nice place and Great pictures like your post and your passion have a nice start on steemit plataform... following you recipes:) :)

Thank you!! Following you too. :)

Welcome to Steemit!
Wow! what an amazing first post. Lovily pictures!

Look forward to your future posts. Especially since we are both food lovers :P

Thank you!! Glad you liked it. Feels good to meet fellow foodies here. Hope to contribute more in the coming days.

Nice to meet you, great intro. Look forward to more posts!

Thank you. Nice to meet you too. I'll be posting more in the coming days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84