You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introduceyourself: I'm an independent filmmaker headed to New Zealand for my 4th feature, a fantasy

Great intro! I'm a high school teacher and I teach a Film & TV class. I'm sure they would love your story, and appreciate your dedication.
Plus like, Miyazaki references are always a win.

Sort:  

Awesome! That was one of my favorite classes (perhaps obviously) in high school so I'm glad to hear it hasn't been completely defunded by now. Funny thing, I had my high school media teacher as an actor on one of my shows about 6 years after I graduated. So remember, you are auditioning for future directors at all times! haha

And yes, Miyazaki! He is my favorite filmmaker, so I can't help but bring up his films every so often. If I knew I only had one movie left to be able to watch in my life, it would definitely be one of his.

Ahhhh, but which one would you watch? That's the toughest question.
I have a degree in theatre, so I'm pretty much waiting for one of my kids to help me with my big break.

A very tough question. I think it would depend on how I felt at the time. I think most likely would be My Neighbor Totoro or Spirited Away, but I could see myself going Porco Rosso, or maybe even Kiki's Delivery Service too. I'd even happily take Castle of Cagliostro.

And that's not a bad plan! :D It might actually work.

Porco Rosso is a good pick, but for sheer rewatchablility for us it would be - Up on Poppy Hill!

...

Alright. Who's gonna be the one to tell him Goro made that one? Me? I just did? (His son directed that one.) But yes that is also a great movie lol.

The shame and embarrassment is overwhelming! That my favorite Miyazaki movie is from GORO Miyazaki....

🤯 😬 😰 😱 😳 🤪 😵

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44