You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ReIntroducing Myself: I'm changing everything!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to Steemit. Kudos to your dad for his support and wisdom. Are we allowed to know who he is on here? It's okay if you want to keep it a secret. Please source your images. Some folks will flag you for not doing it. If you need help with the coding, I'll gladly help you on steemit.chat. Look me up there please. The official chat site is nice for meeting new friends too!

Sugar was the hardest addiction for me to break. I know how you feel. Really, I do. It took me almost three years to break the habit completely. The stuff is like heroin. You're fighting it though and taking a lot of positive steps. You're winning! That's great. Just take it one day at a time, and slowly things will improve. You knew that already though. I don't call eating well "health food" however.

It's the food we were meant to eat. We were meant to eat mostly fruit, vegetables, and nuts. If you were in the wilderness and didn't have factories and machines, what would you eat? That's what you should still be eating today. ;-) I eat mostly berries, veges, beans, and occasionally lean meats (fish mostly). My circulation is good, I have no risk of sudden death from strokes or heart attacks, and I'll live a long and healthy life.

You will too. Keep it up! Stay strong, warrior. The best part about changing your diet for the better is that you'll feel a million times better emotionally. That's worth it just by itself, right?! Here's my normal intro info for new people who's accounts show promise...

There are a ton of other webpages to help you with Steemit. Here are some of the best for beginners:

https://steemd.com/ (This site is used to keep track of your voting power and other stats. You do not want to run out of voting power, and you only get so much per day. I keep my voting power around 80% for example.)

https://steem.makerwannabe.com/ (This site will tell you who follows you, who unfollows you, and who mutes you. It is great for meeting new people too. I regularly check it to see who has followed me to see if I should follow them back.)

https://steemit.chat/ (This site is the official chat webpage for Steemit. There are Discord channels too, but I usually stick to the official site. Come in to network and meet new friends. You can directly message people there too, so it makes it easier to communicate with your closest friends.)

Oh yeah, there are a lot of bots on here. If you see a cookie cutter reply, especially to your intro post, it is almost certainly a bot. Check the account's reputation. If it is low, I would recommend just ignoring them. Everything is public on Steemit, so you can go look at an account's comments and replies. Are they all the same? It's a bot.

Adding photos to your account as a new Steemian may be confusing at first too. The easiest way it to click to "Submit a Story." Once in there, use the built in Steemit tool to upload an image from your computer. Below the posting window, you will see "Insert images by dragging & dropping, pasting from the clipboard, or by selecting them." Click on the blue text. Once the image is uploaded, you can copy and paste the link into your account settings.

Verifying your identity is very important because it will get you more support and people will trust you more. The best way to verify is to link back to your Steemit account by using another public social media account. For example, I posted my Steemit articles from here through my Twitter account. Another person posted their Steemit information on their Facebook account. Some people will even post a video of themselves writing out their account information since that cannot be Photoshopped. The more famous a person is or the more valuable their content is, the more important it is that they verify. If a new account falls within those two categories and fails to verify, it may get blacklisted.

Again, welcome, and I've followed you! If you have any questions about getting started, look me up on the chat site.

Sort:  

Wow, thanks for all the information! When you say you posted your articles from Steemit to social media, do you mean just literally sharing the url on Facebook? Does that mean that anyone who follows me on Steemit can see my Facebook after that? Just checking to make sure I understand.
And you're right, I do need to source my images! I was quite lost on how to do that, so I resorted to the little disclaimer at the end, which is obviously not really cutting it. I'll have to get onto the chat site eventually, but I so want to hide behind my computer! Not for any nefarious reasons, but because meeting new people in real time is much scarier then meeting them at my own pace!
Thanks for the support and the advice!!

Yes, share your intro post on your facebook account. That is an easy way to verify. Then people here can go there to see for sure that you're the same person. Sharing the code to teach you how to source is difficult. Hmmm...

Does this work?

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1NlAoGnP8q7ZAxGsEnvza-qotUGkoaae4SwXdubAhi2g/edit?usp=sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89