Fatherhood and Nostalgic Gaming

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

profile.png

Well, let's get this show started shall we?

I am an Electronic Artist by training, a programmer by trade, a loving husband and new father.

I enjoy creating/building things. I tend to answer my wife's requests for things to add to her amazing, ever expanding, garden with solutions that she usually sees as too complex at first. If I'm going to do it, I'm going to do it as well as I can. We've arrived at a good system: she comes to me with a problem or idea, then I mercilessly tear it apart in front of her like child's first birthday cake. (sorry my dear) We do this till I am able to sketch out two or three ideas we've fleshed out together for her to make the final decision on.

I am a fan of the Theory of Game Design and Development, specifically within the realm of video games. I spent hours pouring over theorycraft sites trying to min/max my Enhancement Shaman in the Burning Crusade and Frozen Throne expansions of World Of Warcraft to be ready for raid nights in Karazhan and the Icecrown Citadel. Hundreds of hours playing with different builds in Borderlands and Borderlands 2 trying to find the specs and gear sets that offer some new idea that makes a boss, region, or character more fun to play that were different from what people were writing about on the forums.

Love and Video Games

Today, I don’t play as much as I used to. I tend to only be able to afford shorter play sessions as I have traded in solo and online play time for story time and playing with my son. Not a bad deal I have to say. However, I do miss the depth of the games I used to play, and I hope that I will be able to share some of this with my son one day. The min/maxing of a character and team coordination that was practiced to defeat raid bosses that required the coordination of everyone involved. However the games that offer this kind of interaction don’t seem to work well in shorter, sub hour long, play sessions.

I am one of those guys with lots of game and application ideas that usually doesn't manifest further than words on paper. However, I am looking to change that with a series I am planning to write here on Steem.it.

Sort:  

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Thanks! I'm excited to see where this goes!

Congratulations @feldral! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Bonjour,hi @feldral welcome to steemit,check out chainbb web site and steemit.chat.Sometimes cashing out is a problem,so dont worry we all are here for help each other in any way,have a look here Coinpayments.net this site and this wallet can you allow you to send money in and out steemit to your crypto wallet.Will follow your profil. Please follow me too , this how steem works, thanks a lot best regard @empower-leads.

Welcome to Steemit! I'm looking forward to learning more about gaming from your posts!

I've got a series planned about developing a game idea.

The theories work with just about any sort of idea so even if you aren't looking to develop a game it could still be useful to read.

Welcome to the Steemitcommunity, @Feldral:) Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me at @khunfarang

Sure, I'd be happy to. If and when you start posting things other than this cookie cutter comment.

Hey! Enjoy steemit!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10