You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My name is Brennen Hodge and I'm an entrepreneur on a social mission to fix our failing healthcare system.

I and my family are currently smack in the middle of this healthcare mess. Enbrel is 1000/week for my husband. We've literally been told to sell our vehicle and home until we are on the street in order to pay. I am intereted in your ideas. Wondering how you will handle HIPPA and security? Heres the post I made about our struggles, its not a long read and we are definitely not alone trying to afford meds (Medicare wanted $5,000 up front to cover it for the year):
https://steemit.com/steemit/@farmandadventure/the-most-important-blog-of-my-life
Good luck...hope this works!

Sort:  

My heart goes out to you and your family.

I'm sure you're aware of the new biosimilar out there called Erelzi. It won't be out until late 2018-2019 due to legal battles with the patent holder of Enbrel.

Here's what makes me furious. There are legal loopholes that pharmaceutical companies have been taking advantage of for decades now. Called "Pay to Delay," these companies are using legal tactics to delay other companies from bringing cheaper generics/biologics to market just so they can profit a few more years off their original patent. This happens for EVERY drug. How many patients & families have faced the financial struggles because of greed? This is why I'm taking a stand and doing something about it.

Here's reference to the loophole I mentioned: http://californiahealthline.org/morning-breakout/drug-companies-use-loopholes-in-hatchwaxman-act-to-delay-generic-competition-ftc-report-says/

As for HIPAA & security, well, that is one of the strongest benefits of blockchain technology. I'll get into detail with this when I release the technical whitepaper. I've also been dealing with HIPAA for the past few years with my previous company. Those outdated laws are seriously hampering innovation.

Thank you for your reply. I actually had not heard of Erelzi as we ask all the time if there are other biologics in testing or approved and we're told no by drs, pharmacy, and labs.
Im sure HIPPA was engineered that way for a reason. Good on you for getting this idea hatched..cant wait to see where it leads!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64