Hello world! We are Farm and Adventure in Florida!

14800-1.jpg

Picture_20170223_004307697-1.jpg

Hi! I'm Andi from Farm and Adventure! We have about 200 acres of nearly untouched Old Florida pasture for our herd of cows and our chickens, ducks, turkeys, quail, pigs, garden, and one very happy bunny.

0429170828.jpg

1127151733b_HDR.jpg

The farm has been in the family since the 60s, but when my husband and I got married we decided we were going to live as much off the land as possible. Solar was not an option when we moved here but I am hoping to add some solar features little by little. We have a tractor but don't use it much. I prefer hand tools and hands-as-tools as much as possible.

0526171042.jpg

We have a small YouTube channel and I am learning what people like to watch, mostly the animals. Here's my latest raw footage video of our ducks first time swimming in their pond:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@farmandadventure/2nd-generation-of-magpie-ducks-set-free-to-pasture-and-pond

We would love you to Follow us on our Adventures on the farm and on Steemit! I only resteem quality content or posts that brought some happiness to my day. I DO NOT FOLLOW FOR FOLLOW, please dont ask. I want to see Steemit stay quality for everyone. HAVE A HAPPY DAY!

Picture_20170614_205351326.jpg

PLEASE RESTEEM FRIENDS!

Sort:  

Hello and Welcome to Steemit Andi,
that looks like you are living a dream !

I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you !

I would just start following and talk to the people here first, with the time
i am sure the trend is going up with you !

bienvenida, willkommen and velkommen

Good Luck & Cheers

Solid advice! Thanks for stopping in

Hi @farmandadventure Welcome to steemit community. It's very nice to meet you! Hope you enjoy creating content here. Sounds like you have a lot of fun stories to share with us in the future. I'll be looking forward to reading them! Happy steeming!

Looking forward to making them for you. Thanks for stopping by!

Welcome!

There are more than a few homesteaders on Steemit.

welcome. Enjoy the resteem to 2k people. Glad to have homesteaders here!

Check out our Discord channel to meet lots of nice new people. It's in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Channel home to the Minnow Support Project

https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

You sir are a gentleman....thank you

Welcome to Steem @farmandadventure I have sent you a tip

Hey Andi, welcome to Steemit! You're doing a great job, will keep an eye out for your posts. Good luck!

Looks fantastic. My family (@scarletleonard) and I are looking to set up a homestead in the future but are stuck where we are for a few years yet.
Florida would be far too hot for us though I think, we're in the UK and looking at places like West Virginia, Oregon or Washington state.
You've got a follow from me, lots to learn!

Keep your dreams in front of you and you'll make it! Florida is very very hot. We were in the 90s in February. If you want to homestead in America, research states that are supportive of this lifestyle. Some states are not, unfortunately. Nice to meet you!

I'll definitely be reading up more and more. I have a few posts planned to cover the questions but generally I think I'm looking at:

  • Planning restrictions
  • Land tax
  • Land prices
  • Rainwater harvesting laws
  • Access to wells/spring etc
  • Wildlife and critters (the UK doesn't really have them!)
  • Temperature (it got to 90f yesterday here and felt like I was dying!)

Also high on my list is woodland (for timber) and a stream/creek as I have a strange desire to make a hydro-electric power generator!

Also, we don't mind a few feet of snow (but that will limit what we can grow) :P

I also recommend An American Homestead on YouTube, and here they are called @MericanHomestead. They are in Arkansas in the Ozarks and they are not regulated like we are in Florida. Best wishes!

It sounds like you have a well defined vision of what you are looking for in a homestead. I live on a hundred acre extended family homestead in New England, and from what you've described the northeastern united states would be a solid bet be it upstate New York, rural Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire or Maine.

The main advantages of the northeast are as you have already described, most of the region is covered in both hardwood and evergreen forest depending on local climate and altitude. Additionally, there is abundant precipitation year round (although this can ruin more than one lovely summer day...) so there is ample surface and ground water, which also makes water harvesting and its associated headaches in drier parts of the world a relative non-issue. Also, being a temperate region we have four distinct seasons with winter temperatures as low as -30F to occasional summer highs above 100F!

Expert advice right there! Helping each other, thats what makes life great!

Thanks @newenglandsavage. I honestly thought hard about NE coast but thought that it might actually be too expensive to get land there (being near New York etc). I always equated New Hampshire as being where the rich go for holidays? Too much TV?

When I'm able to catch games I'm a Patriots fan too :)

Yes land up here can certainly get a little pricey depending on where you way be looking. New Hampshire is not quite what you've seen in the movies haha, up here we call it the "south of the north", and it's actually a pretty awesome state to live an off-the-grid lifestyle as they have very few laws regarding rights to farm, water access, firearms, and much more. Just remember the states motto is "live free or die"!

Well, we're forming the plan. We're working towards buying the house we're renting as we get a discount on it, then we have to live here for 5 years or sell it back with the discount.
We're hoping to own it outright in those 5 years or as close to it as we can then take the plunge and buy some land :)

40 isn't too old to start homesteading right? :)

Absolutely not! Its never to late to live better!

Welcome, welcome, welcome @farmandadventure! I wish you happiness, health, light and happy steeming! =)

That is a beautiful sentiment, thank you!

Let the adventure begin . Looking forward to learning some on self sufficiency .

Youre in the right place!

Beautiful land, animals and veggies! Thanks for sharing ! Happy Hardforking!

Thanks, and you too! Ive enjoyed your posts and looking forward to more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64