Introducing Myself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit! I'm really excited to be joining the community.

My name is Dave Knittel (you pronounce the K in Knittel but I've heard so many different pronunciations that I'll pretty much respond to anything as long as you're in the ballpark).

Doughnut lover

You can find me on Twitter here.

I live in San Jose, CA with my wife now, but we're originally from the Philly area. I went to Penn State for college before moving back to the Philly area to begin my career in the corporate world. My wife's job brought us out west in 2015 and we've been enjoying life on the west coast these last few years.

We love to hike, travel and just hang out, which we can do in abundance in the Bay Area. We're also pretty active and love working out.

My wife is actually the one who turned me on to Steemit as she heard about it on one of the podcasts she listens to.

A little bit more about me: I'm a massive, lifelong soccer fan. I support the United States national teams, the Philadelphia Union, and Liverpool FC, but I'll watch any match that I can.

My life pretty much revolves around the sport. Watching matches, reading books/articles, or listening to podcasts about soccer accounts for about 90% of my time spent awake. This passion led me to leave the corporate world in 2016 and devote myself completely to a startup I created in 2014 called Fan Futsal. That is why my Steemit handle is @fanfutsal.

Fan Futsal is a simplified fantasy soccer website that aims to make fantasy soccer easier and more fun for all soccer fans to play. My background is in finance and economics, so I've learned so much about technology, outsourcing, various technical & soft skills, and project management in addition to a host of other topics while working on Fan Futsal. It's been a frustrating journey at times but I wouldn't change a thing.

Right now, the Fan Futsal site has been experiencing some infrastructure issues, so my development team is trying to fix those. In the meantime, I've been devoting my energies to a new passion project. I launched a new YouTube channel called The Soccer Tavern in early January. Here's a quick intro video about the channel.

Our first video was about the origins of soccer and our next video will be about the history of the word 'soccer' (this will be released tomorrow, so if you click this link on January 18, the video will say not available).

In addition to all of this, I do a weekly podcast about soccer with my two brothers called Bros Talking Soccer. You can search for it on your podcasting platform of choice and we should be there.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post and I look forward to interacting with you on the platform. If you want to get in contact to discuss soccer, startups, or anything else, you can message me here or send an email to [email protected].

And if you have any suggestions for what you'd like to learn more about in the soccer world, please let me know and I'll be happy to make a video about it.

Thanks again and hope to talk soon,
Dave

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49