My 'introduceyourself' post ... somewhat after the fact!

Greetings from a 'steamy' Ramsgate, KZN. I am Nicky, I grew up on a dairy farm in the Natal Midlands and had the most magical childhood. My love of nature was nurtured there amongst the moss and ferns & snowdrops. I have always read copiously, drawn pictures and painted all manner of goodies. I married in the late70's and serendipity stepped in, in the shape of Lorna, my mentor and friend, and showed me that my thing is Art on Leather. Many moons ago I had three small babes and when I found the time I painted watercolours. I painted a grasshopper all dressed in velvet & lace playing a violin, with great detail (my eyes were good then) & many other fantastical things. Lorna offered to sell them in her shop and then offered me a job handtooling (with a swivel knife) & then painting pictures on shoes & boots that they handmade. This requires the ability to make mirror image pictures that match on each shoe. Not so easy! Long story short, I made shoes myself eventually & taught many folk the art of Art on Leather.
207692_1013234405859_3708_n.jpg
This image is from the eighties! I had the coolest shop in Pietermaritzburg, called 'Joy Division', custom-making shoes/boots to order, then the hippest clothing & best of all the MUSIC!! & sooo many amazing lifelong buddies. That all changed as things do, I work in the Art Department at a newspaper, learnt skills delightful, specially with lettering & design, many start overs again, many, many years later, I ended up working in InDesign making a newspaper from home for my old hometown. That also ended and thus began my re-entry into Art on Leather, beginning with the owl bag. Here are a few of my efforts ...
20161009_125013.jpg
This is a festival belt I made using shapes from Nature, tooling, painting and embellishing, this is for hands-free partying, with all quite unique. I had such fun making all the leather feathers.
20161129_082557.jpg
The most Capacious Carryall, I made this as a laptop bag but ended up keeping it for myself and it is teaching me how to perfect the Art of making Handbags ... always a learning curve!
So, I do hope you like my work and I have given some you creative folk some inspiration, thank you for sharing my journey and be blessed.

Sort:  

Very unique I love all the designs especially the bag I hope I can own a bag with the same design. =)
Welcome to steemit and more power to you. =)

thank you muchly :)

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and cool.

thanks so much

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

hi! i wish you all the best on steemit!

greets the fox
FOX.jpg

hey hey, thanks so much

Nice to meet you
Dear.
welcome to steemit. we are very happy with your joining
i like your pictures
Follow me @abrarahmed
I have up to 2000 followers
for Free upvotes
Followers
&
Resteem your future posts
your steemit Name is nice
sample.gif
@abrarahmed

shot man :) this is so cool!

Welcome onboard! Hope you'll find it great in here..

thank you :)

Welcome to Steemit. Wonderful to go full circle and return to working with leather again Fairy Feet. LOVE the belt with all the pouches and feathers. And love your name.

You might like to look at @steembay if you wanted to sell your work at Steemit. Still early days and there doesn't seem to be any high end priced items. 🦋

oh wow thank you ... I am new and a bit of a noob :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38