A Crypto Newbie - Any Advice?

Katie C.jpg

Hi Steemit, I’m Katie. I’m a Marketing Executive from South Wales, UK. I’m (very) new to Cryptocurrencies and blockchain and am keen to learn as much as possible. Of course I’ve been doing my research for a few months now, but would love to get some insight from the Steemit community.

What resources do you all use to learn about and stay up to date with blockchain developments and news around cryptocurrencies?

My most used sources are as follows:

ETH Trader Subreddit
Bitcoin Subreddit
Cryptocurrencies Market (Whats App Group)
CoinDesk
CoinTelegraph
Crypto Coin News
ETHNews
EOS Telegram Group
General News Media (e.g. Inc.com, Bloomberg, Business Insider etc)

I’m sure there are some obvious ones that I’m missing. So I’m hoping you guys can help.

Secondly, as a first time investor in crypto - I bought a few ETH back in March - I worry that my perception of cryptocurrencies in general has been skewed by the MASSIVE success of Ethereum.

I’d like to put a lot more time and effort into researching currencies for my next investment. But would like to know what (potentially obvious) things should I avoid doing? What are the mistakes that newbies usually make when investing in crypto? E.g. Lack of research, expecting too much, not knowing when to hold.. Finally, what are the bad habits that people get into, and what should I watch out for?

Again, I’m very new to all this, so apologies for my ignorance here - but I’d love to learn more.

Thanks all!

Sort:  

welcome.gif

reddit and coinmarket cap mostly. And steemit. There are people discussing it in one of my recent posts. If you are interested.

I am! I just checked out your posts and followed you - mainly for the beer related posts ;)

Welcome to Steemit! Definitely pay attention to coinmarketcap.com and search youtube for helpful beginner guides on trading cryptocurrencies! Lastly, make sure you never listen to the trollbox on an exchange site, a lot of people post straight lies in there to try and increase or decrease the value of a specific coin.

Thanks, this is great advice. I didn't think about people's motive's for posting on the exchange sites - it totally makes sense though.

Welcome! check out coinmarketcap.com. If you're interested in ICOs, you can check out tokenmarket.net.

Thanks for this, ICOs are definitely on my radar. I have one that i'm waiting for, but really want to do my research first.

Care to share?

AWESOME Followed and upvoted ..!

.. if you don't have actual trading experience

Thanks - this is something I will definitely avoid!

Howdy Katie - welcome to Steemit!

Thanks! Nice name by the way.

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Welcome to the steemit community! My advise is: upvote posts that you think will succeed, and get a nice percentage of they do. And read a lot about steemit👍 Check out my page if you like🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57387.61
ETH 2518.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31