You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello Steamers! I'm loving this community!

Hey Eric! Welcome to Steemit ! Great to have you here and we hope that you're going to enjoy this community! Quick question to you, we're going to buy Sony Alpha 7RII camera for our around the world trip. Any advice you can give on what lenses should we get for landscape and general travel photos ?

Sort:  

The Alpha is a really great choice - I would take a look at the Fuji Pro 2 as well if you'd like a smaller body with better battery life and a master-of-all kit lens.
For the Sony, my first picks would be a Venus Optics LAOWA 15mm f/2 FE Lens. It's an ultra wide angle now aperture lens, so you can get tiny interiors and milky way shots. This is helpful in europe if you'd like to photograph the inside of an old train, or in iceland when you'd like to capture the majesty of the northern lights.
For a walk around, I'd suggest the Sony FE 24-70mm. It'll capture just about anything you can throw at it, and with f4, you can get as much in focus as you'd like. Great for churches, markets, graveyards, and you can even use the 50-70mm section for portraits! :-)
Hope this helps! In my posts, I'll try to include the lens details too.

Thanks for the great reply! We were thinking about Zeiss Batis 18mm f/2.8, but after researching a bit about LAOWA 15mm, we might change our mind. Thanks again. Looking forward for your posts.

Between the f/2 and f/2.8, there's a world of difference. I actually avoid shooting f/2.8 whenever I can. I have all my important lenses at f/1.2 - f/2.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43