Introduce Yourself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

tgif.jpg
Hi, my name is Elizabeth Vlachoulis and I live in Whyalla, South Australia. I was born in Manila, Philippines in 1983 to both Filipino parents. Prior to coming to Australia in 2010, I was juggling two jobs at the same time: one, working as a public high school teacher during the day, from 1PM to 7PM; and, two, doing graveyard shifts in a BPO (business process outsourcing) industry, from 9PM to 6AM. I literally used to have only 1-2 hours of sleep every day during that period. At that time, I didn't even have a family, and people were wondering why I was doing that to myself. I didn't even have children to feed, but why did I let myself go through that ordeal. Well, because I love teaching, always have, however, at that time, I was not happy where my career was going. I did not want to give up my BPO job, as I earned more from it. You might not even know it but let me tell you, teachers in the Philippines are under compensated.

Because of my previous career experiences, I am so appreciative and grateful for the blessing and the privilege of being able to work here in Australia as an educator and a teacher. I am currently employed in a Christian private primary school here in Whyalla, and have worked in the same school since 2014. I have had the opportunity to explore different positions in the school, such as relief teacher, Out-of-School-Hours Coordinator, Library teacher and presently, as a teacher/educator in the Early Learning Centre. Even though it is not a full-time position, I am still thankful for this huge blessing, because I get to work in a positive and healthy work environment with fellow teachers and staff who are very supportive and encouraging.

By the way, I would like to thank my sister @sarahdandridge for introducing Steemit to me. She said that I loved writing, and maybe this would interest me. So far, I like what I'm seeing, plus the fact that I could get to support my sister in her writing, which seems like becoming more of her hobby now. I'm so proud of her!
sarah and i.jpg

This photo of myself and Sarah was taken in 2012, and hopefully not the last time to see her in person, as I am planning to go to the United States within the next 5 years. Of course, I can't go by myself, I will have to bring my husband with me, so we both could meet my brother-in-law, and finally get to hold my nieces and nephew. I miss them so much!!!
PA230085.JPG

I said, that within the next five years, I will go to Chicago, Illinois (because that's where my sister lives). Right now, because of the demands of my work and I am currently studying as well, I can't just leave my responsibilities behind and go to places where I want to. My visit to the US in the future requires thorough and careful planning, a lot of saving and finding a trustworthy person to care for my two precious cats.

Cheers for now!

Sort:  

Welcome!

Hi Ate/my sister Beth @evlachsblog. 😁 welcome and thanks for joining here. Enjoy and have fun blogging. 😘🤗 Hope to see you soon.

welcome to the steemit community @evlachsblog ")
glad to have you here!

hi evlachsblog, it’s nice to see new face on steemit, hope you will spread positive vibes in steemit.and keep up the good work on steemit...;-) and be regular on steemit it will make grow you faster... ;-)

Welcome to steemit , upvoted you will regularly do on your good work , for newbie tips and basic information you can check my blog at @adityajainxds

some of the important website you need to now.

https://steemd.com/@ (username)
http://steemitboard.com/welcome.html
https://steemnow.com/@ (username)

This one you need a must to sign up beause you will get more followers and more upvote by everyupvote and lastly the more points the more SBD. Try it and grow yourself

https://steemfollower.com/?r=9826

You Have My Back.....
Thanks @adityajainxds

Thank you. Following you now... I see that you are cryptocurrency enthusiast.. I'm just wondering, will Ether ever go up? Are cryptocurrencies falling now?

Welcome home :)
We hope to hear more about you and your interesting stories..

Congratulations @evlachsblog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome!follow me , Good

Followed you... thanks!

Nice to meet you @evlachsblog🙃
Welcome to Steemit!
Try to get a profile picture!
Take one from Instagram using my post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@heiner/how-to-use-a-steemit-profile-picture-from-instagram
I follow you!

Thank you. Appreciate that!

Welcome to Steemit! I look forward to reading your blog. Maybe you will do good enough on this platform to buy you some airfare. Good luck and God bless you!

Thank you. I hope so, too. I hope in 5 years time.

2 much information it hurts my eyes. Hey you forgot to write your credit card numbers and their user codes, social security number etc. Maybe in your next post mix it up with some pictures of your passport (all pages of course) maybe add drivers licence, you catch my drift?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60855.77
ETH 2668.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47