SQUEE! Hello Lovely Steemians - Time To #Introduceyourself!

Hello lovely Steemians...

Complete newbie here reporting for duty!

Yup, post number 1 (SQUEE!) I'm so excited to be here with you all… (can you hear my knees knocking?!)

So, I'm told that the best way to make a start in this awesome community is to to do an #introduceyourself post - and after having a good look around whilst waiting for my shiny new account, I'm so excited to meet you all and to get following some of the amazing blogs I've been binge-reading over the past couple of weeks.

Right- a little bit about me.

20180615_202534.jpg
Can you tell it's Friday by my rather tired looking eyes?!

My name's Laura but I'm on here as @eveningart as, let's face it, there are many, many (many) Lauras out there! Also, I wanted to differentiate my Steemit journey from my other blogs and social media accounts - more of that below. I'm 34 and live in Devon, UK - right on the edge of Dartmoor. I live with my lovely other-half of nearly 15 years. He's an author. I dream of owning a dog very soon. Seriously - the puppy broodiness is intense!

Whilst waiting for a bundle of fluff of my very own (and when I'm not at my day-job as a charity fundraiser), I get my puppy-fix by working as a pet portrait art. I'm self-taught, and adore using my pencils to try to capture the unique character of people's gorgeous fur-babies. Some of my favourite pieces are the ones I draw in memory of those who have passed away. I'm currently teaching myself to oil paint- regularly ending up in a complete paint-soaked mess (imagine a big blob of yellow and green in my eyebrows and you're not far off the state I was in last week!) You can find a range of my work over on Instagram here if you fancy checking it out.
17966444_488771784804326_4640922873917554079_o.jpg

I also love to read and write. I've been a book blogger for years, and review for several of the major publishers here in the UK. If you're interested in having a look, you can find my book blog here. See- this is why I wanted to be under a different guise here on Steemit!

It's my long-standing dream to finish a novel and get it out on submission. My problem is, one minute I'm writing romcom and the next, I'm deep into some gruesome fantasy along the lines of Game Of Thrones.

So, I guess that's enough about me to start with (before you all nod off to sleep!). Any questions- please do ask in the comments and I'll look forward to chatting with you.

Me and Steemit

My aim is to post here every day, covering a range of topics - art in progress, writing posts, drawing tutorials, book recommendations and ulogs. I'll take you for adventures around my part of Devon - maybe you can even come wild swimming with me up on the moors. Anything I'm excited about, I'll be sharing it with you.
13729123_10207907358336226_2789843764167855396_n.jpg

Thanks for making it this far! I'm looking forward to getting to know you all and becoming a part of this fantastic community. Don't forget to say "hi" in the comments… and of course, any upvotes you can spare this over-excited newbie are very much appreciated.

Catch you tomorrow,
Eveningart x

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, @eveningart :)

I hope you have already started exploring the platform. To help you further with that I have the following two guides for you that will give you a good idea about Steemit:

The Beginner's Guide to Steemit

How to Transfer STEEM From Bittrex to Steemit

Moreover, I would also suggest to join @greetersguild, which is a community for Stemians, especially the newcomers. Here you can get different type of support from the community, including an upvote support, and of course, learning from experienced Steemians. It is created by @terminallyill, and I would like to invite you to join us :) Here is the link to our discord server

If you have any question, feel free to reply to this comment and I will try to guide you :)


Thank you so much for the links, and the tips too - I'll definitely check out @greetersguild - and need to do some research into Discord :)

Wow, those are some serious drawing skills - I am sure the #art community will love them!
Giving you a little boost with a small upvote + resteem!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thank you so much - and for the upvote and resteem - what a lovely welcome!

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you enjoy your stay here. I am also new on the platform, you could wish to check out my blog and consider upvoting my introductory post. I have upvoted yours, I know my upvote is currently worth nothing, but it still shows courtesy.

Hi! Thank you so much - I hope you're having a fab time here too so far. I'll definitely check out your blog. E x

Hello eveningart! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Thank you so much for the welcome and the fantastic tip - invaluable for a newbie like me!

welcome on steemit Eveningart, have fun!

Thank you so much!

welcome to steemit, left you a vote. check out my blog, if you leave a vote and follow i follow back anyone that follows me :)

Thanks very much! I'll hop over and check out your blog too!

Welcome to Steemit @eveningart, may you succeed quickly.

Thanks very much - great to be here!

Saludos es un placer ver personas nuevas por aquí, éxitos te desea @ydavgonzalez.

Thank you so much for the welcome! I used google translate on your comment :)

Nice to meet you; love your artwork!!!! Your drawings are so skillfully done and engaging I can't wait to see more:)

You seem so cool lets be friends:)

Very nice to meet you too - and thank you!! I really appreciate that, and I'm looking forward to sharing more of my work here- and also seeing more of yours.

Friends sounds good though trust me- I'm so far from cool it's funny. 5ft 11 worth of geeky clumsiness right here! E x

I was so uncool the geeks found me weird, lol

Perfect- sounds like we're going to get on well 😁

Hi and welcome! Let me follow your ulog?)

Hi - thanks very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47